REVIEW: Warm Bodies

I finally got around to reading Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion – here’s what I thought!

REVIEW: Warm Bodies

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 18.57.35.png

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies #1) by Isaac Marion

Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books

Publish Date: 25th December 2012

Amazon / Goodreads

TITLE/COVER. I appreciate the movie covers because I really enjoyed the Warm Bodies movie, probably more than I enjoyed the book. I love the title – it describes exactly what the zombies become as they begin to change: warm corpses.

PLOT. I saw the film Warm Bodies first, a few years ago, so I knew the plot points and to be honest I think the movie explained the actions of Julie’s father a lot more than the book – especially nearing the closing, he seemed to be illogical and unwilling to listen to reason beyond what felt realistic.

SETTING.  The specifics of how Marion’s apocalyptic setting comes about isn’t really discussed, but I hope it’s a point that will be addressed in the sequel, The Burning World. I would like to see the world explored more because I think the premise is a unique take on the zombie genre and I’d like to see more world building on top of the already established concepts.

CHARACTERS. I enjoyed R’s voice as much as I did in the film. M also takes a larger role in the book that he does in the film, which I appreciated, although there are lots of elements – like zombie wives and zombie children, as well as the boneys (I assume they’re skeletons, but it’s a strange name). These concepts aren’t fully explored and I hope they are in the sequel.

OVERALL. I’ve decided to rate Warm Bodies a 3.5* – I felt it was okay, but I had to push myself to get through it. I’d definitely reccomend reading the book first and then watching the film, because the film pretty much covers the exact same plot. It’s the kind of book that I will read the sequel to eventually, but I’m not in any rush to continue the series right now.

Have you read Warm Bodies? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!


SOCIAL MEDIA

[Goodreads // Instagram // Twitter // Facebook]

I’m an Amazon affiliate – trial Amazon Prime for super quick book delivery!

Are you a student, like me? Have a look at Swagbucks – I use it all the time!

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Warm Bodies

Leave a Reply

