Introducing Face 101!

For a long time now I’ve been considering starting to talk more about makeup because while it took me a long, long time to get into makeup compared to most, I consider it another hobby alongside reading and writing. Face 101 is my new series for that – it won’t be weekly and it won’t take priority over the books, but I want to branch out. Today’s post? My relationship with makeup.

Face 101 – Relationship with Makeup

In the beginning…

I wore no makeup at all. Strictly speaking, my secondary school didn’t let us – although this didn’t stop people from trying to get away with as much as possible. We were an all girls school so I guess I never saw makeup as something “to attract boys”. I didn’t really choose not to wear any – it wasn’t like I was making a statement. I just didn’t know where to begin, and apart from sometimes sticking a bit of concealer under my eyes, I didn’t know what I was doing.

When I hit college age, over the summer I gradually started building up to more makeup. I started using a BB cream for my skin, mascara and a little concealer. I also discovered eyeshadow around then, which was great, as well as eyeliner pencils.

Next, I changed from using BB cream to actual foundation. It took a long time to find the right shade – I was probably slightly too orange for a long time during college. Luckily I now have a basically pure white foundation that suits me just fine, especially when I add a little bit of contour powder (more on that later) but it took a long time to find something that was a right fit for me.

Now I’m regularly wearing makeup – I’m at the point where I find it fun and interesting to experiment even if I’m not going outside, with a range of different eyeshadow colours and contouring powders as well as a rainbow highlight (which is absolutely amazing). I don’t spend every waking moment in makeup

The UK doesn’t get many super hot days, but in those cases I will usually reduce down the makeup I wear by using concealer and a powder foundation rather than


SOCIAL MEDIA

[Goodreads // Instagram // Twitter // Facebook]

I’m an Amazon affiliate!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

 

Leave a Reply

