How To: Make A Little Extra Money

There’s one thing that book lovers love more than books themselves – being able to gain a bit of extra money… to buy more books.

How To: Make A Little Extra Money

… introducing, Swagbucks!

I’ve been using a site called Swagbucks for about a year and a half now and I wanted to let people know how much of an awesome source of additional income it can be, especially for my fellow students and bloggers in general. This post is completely my own opinion and hasn’t been paid for in any way – but I do include a referral link which, should you chose to give Swagbucks a try, will give me a small benefit from.

Obviously I won’t be talking about this if I couldn’t vouch for their legitimacy. In rarely using it, over a year I’ve made £20 in Amazon vouchers and I’ve never had any problems with claiming rewards. Read on if you’d like a bit more of an explanation of what Swagbucks involves!

I know what you’re thinking – or what I would be thinking if I saw this post. This is another one of those websites, right? The kind that are plastered everywhere claiming to earn you hundreds of [insert appropriate currency] but are actually a scam. I wouldn’t be recommending somewhere that wasn’t legit!

… but, how does Swagbucks work?

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 23.05.20

How the site works is by providing Swag Bucks as incentives for carrying out small tasks. These can then be redeemed for a range of financial rewards, from small to large. These will obviously vary from county to country – it’s an international site which definitely includes the UK, US and Canada – you’ll have to check to see if they operate in your country if you’re outside these zones.

See, that’s what I thought when I first started using Swagbucks. I was definitely skeptical, but the special thing about this site in particular is that you don’t need to give them your bank details/credit card details (which I certainly wouldn’t encourage anyone to disclose to any site online until you’ve established it’s 100% legitimate). Instead, rewards can be claimed through Amazon vouchers.

… what is my experience of Swagbucks?

If you’re a casual user like me you won’t “get rich quick” or quit your day job (or university course) for it, but SB has directly paid for a sketchbook for my old photography course over the past year as well as stationery supplies. Maybe you’ve been thinking about getting a desk organiser from Amazon – Swagbucks could pay for that, or at least contribute money towards it.

I’ve started doing a lot of online shopping, particularly as I’ve grown to love makeup even more (it’s easier to buy the right thing online than searching through a store to risk not finding the exact product I wanted). Swagbucks also runs a cash back scheme where, for example, every £1 you spend a Boots (a drugstore here in the UK), you receive 8 SB.

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 23.02.21There is a validating period where your purchase is confirmed, and then you’re credited. Here’s a screenshot of the current amount of SB I have pending which will slowly be trickling in soon. The purchase amount shown is in USD, because Swagbucks I believe is a US company – but all of the purchases I made were in British £. I think they’re been changing their cash back system recently (I’ve noticed it’s becoming more reliable).

If you would like to try out Swagbucks you can click here!

Do you use Swagbucks? Would you consider using it? Do you have any questions about Swagbucks? Let me know in the comments, I’m happy to answer anything!


SOCIAL MEDIA

[Goodreads // Instagram // Twitter // Facebook]

I’m an Amazon affiliate – trial Amazon Prime for super quick book delivery!

Are you a student, like me? Have a look at Swagbucks – I use it all the time!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

4 thoughts on “How To: Make A Little Extra Money

    • The reason I like swagbucks so much is for online shopping they track your purchase and automatically credit you (there’s a pending stage to account for returns) because I’m hopelessly forgetful and anything like taking pictures I would definitely forget 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s definitely worth a go! The survey opportunities depend on the specific demographic the company is looking for, so I prefer to online shop as I accumulate points faster. They also run events (called Swago boards) which give bonuses from time to time – which is always nice :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

