REVIEW: It’s Kind of A Funny Story

I just finished reading It’s Kind Of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini – this is my review!

REVIEW: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 23.18.03.png

It’s Kind Of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Amazon / Goodreads

TITLE/COVER. I absolutely love the cover design of It’s Kind Of A Funny Story, and I love how the cover design becomes a part of the story and a part of the solution for Craig.

CHARACTERS. Particularly in the beginning, I found it slightly difficult to identify with the characters in It’s Kind Of A Funny Story. I also felt, to some extent, that the female characters existed purely to drive the plot for the male characters – Noelle felt like she had very little personality, and Nia also didn’t have much of a personality either. While I enjoyed It’s Kind Of A Funny Story, there was definitely room for improvement in it’s handling of female characters. Craig’s obsession with Nia was understandable, but the way in which he suddenly decided to pursue Noelle (and then tried to take Nia back before realising his mistake) didn’t make any sense to me. That being said, I did like the interaction between Noelle and Craig overall.

PLOT/NARRATIVE. From start to finish, I felt It’s King Of A Funny Story had brilliant pacing. I had a brief moment of confusion between past and present in the beginning chapters, but I think that was more due to lack of paying attention – because Ned Vizzini was writing with his own experiences of mental illness as inspiration, I felt the novel handled the heavy subject matter very well and really humanised the people with mental illness.

OVERALL. I’m giving It’s Kind Of A Funny Story a 4.5* rating. I found it an effective story humanising those affected by mental illness, especially depression, and is a strong example of the importance of own voices writing. The only criticism I have is of the female characters and the way they were used – I would have preferred female characters who had depth and, for me, Noelle and Nia felt flat.

Have you read It’s Kind Of A Funny Story? Are you now considering it? Let me know what you thought in the comments below!


SOCIAL MEDIA

[Goodreads // Instagram // Twitter // Facebook]

I’m an Amazon affiliate – trial Amazon Prime for super fast book delivery and additional book deals – you’ll be helping support Novellique at the same time!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: It’s Kind of A Funny Story

  1. I’m always overjoyed to see good Own Voices mental illness rep! That’s a shame about the characterisation of the girls, and how Craig’s actions weren’t always logical/justifiable. This may only be a small aspect, but stuff like that gets in the way of me losing myself in the story – once I start critiquing things, I find it hard to look past the flaws to enjoy the positives :(

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m the same – I didn’t want to critique this at first, and I did enjoy it regardless and I would definitely recommend it to everyone, but once I started thinking about the female characters I couldn’t give it a full 5* rating.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

