Behind The Blog: The One Where I Got A Piercing

Behind The Blog is about things that go on behind the scenes for Novellique, either about the running of Novellique or experiences that aren’t to do with books, but are still cool things I want to share. This week is The One Where I Got A Piercing

Behind The Blog: The One Where I Got A Piercing

Every so often, I like to do things to celebrate a specific time in my life. I got my first ear piercings (lobes, where most people have their ears pierced) shortly before secondary school and I’ve dyed my hair pink several times for the beginning and ending of different college terms. When I finished my GCSEs I made a point of going on the only rollercoaster I’ve never been on at Thorpe Park, where I discovered my love of fun-fuelled adrenaline.

I have wanted a helix piercing for some time. For those who don’t know (I certainly didn’t until I did some research) it’s defined as a cartilage piercing at the top of your ear, on the outside.

The diagram on the left shows the different kinds of piercings, although a helix piercing can be a hoop or a stud.

This was my second attempt at finding somewhere to get the helix I’ve been lusting after for some time. My best friend, L, lives in Scotland – it’s safe to say we see each other pretty rarely. While we were in Glasgow for a Green Day concert (the one that never happened, but that’s a whole other story) I tried to get a slot to get a helix piercing, but we were only there for a short time and unfortunately they didn’t have any free slots.

Luckily, L was also planning to come down to London anyway (moral support – L already has several helix piercings and is my font of knowledge for everything relating to ears and metal), and I found a tattoo and piercings shop in Camden – Hell To Pay Tattoos. This isn’t a review post, but if you’re in the area and looking to get any kind of piercing, I’d definitely reccomend them!

I’d been told from online research (as well as L) that getting a helix piercing with a needle rather than a piercing gun is absolutely the way to go. Some piercers use a hollow needle which contains the stud and is inserted into your ear and is completely done, whereas mine used a sharp needle and then inserted the jewellery. She was really gentle, kind and professional which helped the whole thing be a lot less stressful than my brain had hyped it up to be.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

The piercing is exactly where I wanted it and I keep catching a glance of it in the mirror. I’m super happy with it.

It’ll take around three to four months to heal enough for me to change the piercing, should I decide to, although it can take up to a year to be completely healed. In the meantime I can’t sleep on my left side (something which I didn’t really think about until last night when I was trying to get comfortable) and have to avoid touching it as much as possible, especially in the first week or so. It’s a lot less hassle than I imagined and I’m glad I went for it.

I don’t expect to get many more piercings, but I am slightly considering getting a double helix, possibly for my 21st birthday (in three years time). I guess it’ll depend on how much of a pain this one by itself is!

Have you got any piercings, or tattoos? Do you plan to get any in the future? Let me know in the comments!

Also, if you have any questions about getting a helix piercing in general, stick them in the comments – I’m happy to answer anything about my experience!


SOCIAL MEDIA

[Goodreads // Instagram // Twitter // Facebook]

I’m an Amazon affiliate – trial Amazon Prime for super quick book delivery!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

2 thoughts on “Behind The Blog: The One Where I Got A Piercing

  1. Aww, it looks great :D!!! Also so glad you did research because so many people don’t and that’s when problems happen. I love piercings and tattoos so much. I used to have 10 piercings, but now I only have 5 because my body hates them and rejected a bunch of them. I definitely want to get more in my ear. I’ve got 2 tattoos and am craving a million more, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I was super careful to research somewhere with a good reputation – my last piercings were in Claire’s and I’d heard cartilage piercings done with a gun can be dodgy… I’m looking at getting a tattoo some day too but I’m indecisive as heck 😬 maybe a Gemini constellation or something minimalist.

      Like

Leave a Reply

