Words On Bathroom Walls Review

I recieved an eARC for Words On Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton. Thank you to the publishers for providing me with a copy via Netgalley – here’s what I thought!

Review: Words On Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton

Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 23.31.21.png

TITLE: Words On Bathroom Walls

PUBLISHER: Random House Books (4th July 2017)

COVER/TITLE. The cover and title of Words On Bathroom Walls both absolutely fit in with the theme and presentation of Writing on Bathroom Walls. I adore the cover and I think it’s one my favourite contemporary young adult covers ever.

CHARACTERS. I thought all of the characters were complex, including the women – which is always a concern for me with contemporary young adult literature.

PLOT. The pacing and general plot structure of Words on Bathroom Walls reminded me a little of The Fault In Our Stars – a huge compliment because it remains one of my favourite young adult contemporaries ever. There were a lot of issues covered, understandably, but Adam’s sarcasm kept even the darkest moments light. I felt like he made real progress throughout the book and the ending was definitely hopeful, always a good thing in contemporaries which address mental illness.

OVERALL. I’m giving Words On Bathroom Walls a 4.5/5 – my main issue or slight concern, was I didn’t know how much the author had talked to real people with schizophrenia and the note at the back of the book specifies the narrative is based on the condition but has taken some creative license. I would be interested to see what people with schizophrenia think about the portrayal. I don’t believe there was anything harmful with the portrayal and I think the book did a good job of humanising people with schizophrenia, but I have no experience with it. Overall, I loved Adam’s voice and the pacing of the narrative felt just right. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for books by Walton in the future!


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

2 thoughts on “Words On Bathroom Walls Review

  1. It sounds very interesting and I too love “The Fault in Our Stars”. I think when the subject matter is as serious as that, the necessary research is crucial. It actually puts me off a bit otherwise. Great review! I’ll keep my eye out for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

