Behind The Blog: 18 Books, 18 Years

The only fitting way to celebrate my 18th birthday seems to talk about the 18 books most important to me.

18 Books, 18 Years

In no particular order, here are my eighteen important books for eighteen years.

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – this is my all-time favourite dystopian and I’m super proud it has a tv series. It couldn’t be more relevant today than it was when it was written.
  2. Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J.K Rowling – this, of course, had to make the list. It’s the first book I remember being read to me and I’m unashamed to say Harry Potter shaped and moulded my childhood.
  3. And I Darken by Kiersten White – this was one of the first (and still, I think, only) times I’ve read a fantasy young adult book about an anti-hero.
  4. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff – this was the first eARC from a major publisher i recieved and introduced me to the writing of Jay Kristoff. I’m still super grateful for the opportunity it gave me and Nevernight as a whole.
  5. The Dream Protocol by Adara Quick – this was the first review copy I ever recieved, and I love it! The author even sent me a physical copy when it was published and it remains a very important copy to me.
  6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer – this dystopian, futuristic retelling of Cinderella is the first of the Lunar Chronicles and gave me so much inspiration for my own writing.
  7. Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom – I loved this contemporary young adult and how much it made me reconsider what it must be like to be blind as well as encouraging me to keep pushing what I believe is possible.
  8. The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  9. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee – while I refuse to read the sequel (released without Harper Lee’s consent), the original book was the first book I read for English Literature that told me I wanted to study the subject at university. It also woke me up to the political history of the US (which, living in the UK, was/is pretty limited).
  10. Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb
  11. The Curious Incident of the Dog in The Night Time by Mark Haddon – this was a book I read back in secondary school, the first time I’d read a book with a character with Aspergers. It was a super interesting read and I’d one day love to see the stage production.
  12. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – this was the first book that drew me into a fandom. I’d love to reread the series at some point since it’s been  such a long time.
  13. The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky –  another favourite book from a few years ago.
  14. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – the most memorable book that has ever broken my heart. This was the book that helped me get friends into reading and I remember it fondly with a group of library-going friends I had in secondary school. It reminds me of my friendship with them and the school librarian and I’m grateful for them and this book.
  15. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – this book has also given me so many fond memories and fired up a lot of friendships. I read this book in two days, then the series of the series I finished a book each day for a week, excluding the last book in the series (which was released later).
  16. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare –  while I didn’t like The Infernal Devices as much as The Mortal Instruments, I did love Clockwork Princess and how everything was brought together.
  17. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – this was a book that came along at a time when I needed it. I love the idea of writing letters to people but never sending them. It’s a great premise and the narrator, Laura Jean, brought a ray of sunshine into my life… one of the best young adult contemporary romances I’ve read.
  18. A Game Of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – this book, and A Song Of Ice And Fire in general, took forever to read but I’m glad it did. I learnt so much about writing and unreliable narrators from this series and I feel like I can appreciate the HBO series even more having read the source material.

There we go – that’s my list! I’m glad I had this idea, it was interesting to look at the books I consider most important and assess why they hold such an important position in my life. I’m glad I took the time to reflect.

If you had to pick the books important to you, what would a few of them be? Let me know in the comments!


Social Media: Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

5 thoughts on “Behind The Blog: 18 Books, 18 Years

  1. Ahhh Happy Birthday 🎉🎉!!! I miss being 18 😂

    I love Perks so much, it’s honestly one of my favourite books ever. And obviously Harry Potter is a super important part of my life. A bunch of these are on my TBR so this has me even more excited to get them :D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was introduced to To Kill A Mockingbird in my English Lit class as well. And I absolutly fell in love with it. The first book I’ve been given to read in school that I actually went home and read willingly! Plus I’m seriously concidering naming my kitten ( once I get her ) Scout! But I can’t believe that the sequal was released without Harper Lee’s concent! I’m 100% not going to read it now, the book shouldn’t be out there for us to read so I’m going to respect that and not read it. Plus…what if it’s not as good as the first one anyway??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

