Winter (Marissa Meyer) Review

Winter is the fourth installment of The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Here’s my review!

Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 22.58.52

TITLE: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles Book 4)

PUBLISHER: Feiwel & Friends (10 Nov. 2015)

TITLE/COVER. I’ve said this before this reviews of The Lunar Chronicles – I love the way each book retells a story of a fairytale but within the setting that Cinder established. I’m also glad that each character from previous books remains a central part of the plot. This particular cover may be one of my favourites (aside from Cinder, which is my all time favourite).

CHARACTERS. Each of the characters in the Lunar Chronicles feels unique yet also complex. I have seen complaints about Cress, which I agree with to some extent – but, considering Cress’ childhood (or lack thereof) I don’t think her naivety is out of place. Cinder remains my favourite, the down-to-earth mechanic, but I also admire Winter and Scarlet.

PLOT. For me, the pacing of Winter felt perfect. It had moments of intense activity followed by some down time – while there were quite a few threads of different groups of characters, this helped pass the time in an even way – while one character was travelling, another would be doing something else useful to the overall plot and goal. The ending also tied everything up nicely without completely answering the fates of all of the characters – dropping hints about the future without explaining them in detail.

OVERALL. I’m giving Winter a full 5*. If I absolutely had to be picky, I’d say that the series didn’t suffer any major deaths – but then again, it’s based on a fairytale and was, for the most part, a light read – although there are some darker themes in the conclusion, particularly around Levana’s character and the continued discussion of free will vs being controlled. This series has been an enjoyable one and I’m a little sad to see it go, but on the other hand, I have a copy of a few short stories from the Lunar Chronicles which I plan to read next.


Social Media: Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

