DNF: Abomination/The Hereafter

I’m committed to sharing DNF thoughts from now on. This time, the two books in question are Abomination by Jane Doughterty and The Hereafter by Jessica Bucher. Both of these books were given to me in exchange for a review via Netgalley.

DNF Thoughts

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 23.28.37.png

ABOMINATION

As the end of the world begins, Carla and Tully hurtle through a wormhole five years forward in time­—to find they haven’t missed the Apocalypse after all. Carla and Tully are picnicking in the quad of their international high school in central Paris when the end of the world begins. They are sucked into a wormhole that spits them out five years later to find that the world is a freezing desolation but still hanging on, waiting for something even worse to finish it off…the something worse turns out to be the Burnt Man and his horsemen.

This one was a wildcard when I requested it on Netgalley – I wasn’t sure whether I was going to like it or not. The reviews were pretty mixed, and while I found the first couple of pages readable, my interest slowly trailed away. I felt like there was no attempt at world building and I couldn’t get past the initial setup – it felt too rushed. It doesn’t matter how great a novel is, I need it to have a solid foundation in order to enjoy it. I also had a problem with the synopsis (at least, according to the Goodreads synopsis). I felt like it spelled out too much of the plot.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 23.28.46.png

THE HEREAFTER

Nin has no recollection of her death. The things she does remember, like her cruel boyfriend, troubled father, and absent mother, she’d like to forget. Dylan doesn’t need to remember his death to know that he deserved it. Who needs memories when you have the scars? Sparks ignite when the two, very different, strangers meet. Together they spend one endless summer exploring their new world. Suddenly, their after-lives hold more possibility and promise than their tragic teenage lives ever did.

When I was looking into the details of this one, I was reminded of More Than This by Patrick Ness. I guess I was spoiled by setting the bar so high – as I started reading, I quickly realised this wasn’t going to be what I had internally hyped it up to be. It’s a shame, because I feel like this one had a very interesting synopsis but ultimately I’ve read essentially the same plot before and the narrative wasn’t as strong or gripping as the Patrick Ness’ voice.

Have you guys DNF-ed anything recently? Let me know in the comments!


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

3 thoughts on “DNF: Abomination/The Hereafter

  1. Interesting bc they both sound like books I would love too!! I’ll have to look into them and see if they are something I would like…but I worry also that if you didn’t like them, I won’t either, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

