13 Reasons Why Review

I recently finished binge watching 13 Reasons Why – here’s my review!

13 Reasons Why Netflix Review

It has taken me a couple of days to put together my thoughts for a 13 Reasons Why Review, but here it is – at last!

First, a little bit of backstory. I’ve avoided the original book, 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher, because I’m not a huge fan of books about suicide in young adult. It isn’t an easy topic at all to read but I think, having seen the excellent way the show handed it, I may well try out the book.

I don’t want to talk too much about the actual scenes because I want this to be completely spoiler free – it needs to be, in order for someone to get the most out of it.

13 Reasons Why was a beautiful creation and I’m hopeful talks do come through to get a second season, even though the book was a standalone. The characters developed cover a wide range of different personalities and identities, all of them very real and none of them perfect. I’m proud of the multiple different cultures, ethnicities and sexualities involved and the diversities definitely enriched the storytelling.

The entire series calls into question hypocritical bystander culture in which everyone makes an effort to proclaim how anti-suicide they are yet fail to be supportive of their friends when they are most vulnerable.

Overall, I absolutely loved the series and give it a full 5* rating.

Have you watched 13 Reasons Why? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

