The Writing Quest #8

The Writing Quest is my space to share my experience of writing the first draft of my first attempt at writing a novel. Catch up on previous in the series here.

The Writing Quest #8

I’m currently at 17,000 words on my first draft and to be honest, it feels great. There are a lot of ways I’m picking faults with what I’ve written so far, but I’m rewriting some scenes and trying to get a general overall plot established for each of the chapters. I feel like I’m going to be writing less and less as exam season approaches – although I’ll try to write a few words each night, I know I won’t be able to commit to much once June rolls around.

After Easter I’ll be getting back some of my own time – my Photography A Level will finish some time after the next three weeks, so I will have Thursday morning and Tuesday afternoons back.

This summer, though, I’m hoping to really be able to use the time I have to finish my first draft and begin editing. The first draft is going to be messy, I know it will be, and I’m not sure when I will stop calling it a first draft and start calling it a second.

I never really know how much detail to go into when talking about it, since my end goal is to get published, but I was thinking about discussing the main sources of inspiration I’ve noticed myself using.

Doctor Strange was a huge inspiration for the style of magic. Working on the mythology behind the fantasy aspects of the novel is a huge task for me, since I’ve done little to no planning. I’m making it up as I go along, which isn’t a great idea, but it means I force myself to write. I’m discarding a lot but all that I need to focus on is getting into the habit of writing.


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

3 thoughts on “The Writing Quest #8

Leave a Reply

