REVIEW: Cress

Read on to see what I thought about Cress, the third book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

REVIEW: Cress

Somehow I managed to misplace my original review of Cress, so here it is, rescued from Goodreads!

Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)

TITLE/COVER. As with all Lunar Chronicle novels, this one is based on Rapunzel – with Cress (Crescent) as the main character. I still think my favourite cover is Cinder, but I like the way all Lunar Chronicles books match particularly well their their relatively minimalistic covers.

PLOT. I felt like this one was much more evenly spaced and the conclusion was built up to gradually – at the same time, there were still enough lose threads to power the plot of the final novel, Winter. I’m really excited to see where Winter will take the series and it has convinced me to pick up some of the short story collections. The only criticism I can make is that I wish there had been more time to explore Cress on the satellite – much like the original fairytale.

CHARACTERS. I can see why some people saw the relationship between Cress and a rather handsome figure to be rushed, but I actually didn’t mind it too much, all things considered. There was also a sad twist with Cress’ parents and I think that made her feel a little more complex.

OVERALL. I rate this a 4.5* – I think it was my favourite plot and pacing wise, although obviously I love Cinder for how readable and hooking it was. I’m looking forward to where Winter takes this series!

Have you guys read any of the Lunar Chronicles books? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!


Leave a Reply

