REVIEW: Not If I See You First

Another book contributing towards my Beat The Backlist Challenge! This is my review of Not If I See You First.

Book Review

Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

TITLE. Not If I See You First is a great title – not only is it a pun on the main characters blindness, but it is a line that means a lot to Parker Grant, our protagonist.

COVER. I love the cover design and even more specifically my copy, which has Braille which apparently spells out ‘seeing is not believing‘. There is also a braille message at the end which I think sums up the entire point of the book – slight spoiler.

CHARACTERS. Parker, our protagonist, is blind: it’s the starting point of the events of the novel. I think what I love most about Not If I See You First was its approach to Parker’s disability. It felt real. Parker is used to her disability when we meet her, and to my knowledge everything she uses to get around is realistic. Of course, the narrative lacks description because Parker is blind but this is made up for in other ways:

PLOT. For me, this is exactly the kind of plot I like to see in standalone contemporaries. Enough is left at the end to not tie absolutely everything together, but the main plot has been resolved and an optimistic message remains: people make mistakes, and people change.

OVERALL. I rate this a 5*! It’s my first five star read for some time and suffice to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’ll be checking out Lindstrom’s recent book, A Tragic Kind of Wonderful, and I hope I love it just as much as I did this one!

Have you read Not If I See You First? Are you taking part in the Beat The Backlist Challenge? Let me know in the comments!


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

