Nerve Film Review

I remember hearing about Nerve back when it was released in Cinemas but it wasn’t until I started hearing the music tracks recently that I decided to check it out.

Film Review of Nerve

While the film obviously had an element of being a message about the dangers of social media and the mob mentality, I found for the majority of the film it didn’t have too much of a preachy tone. Furthermore, it was accompanied by the message of taking risks and not being held back by your own reservations, a message I felt myself needing at the moment.

I also connected quite strongly to the main character, despite the relatively short time of the film to develop the main character – she was a photographer and weighing up the decision of going into higher education. Both of these things are incredibly important to me at the moment!

While there is a strong romantic element, compared to a lot of young adult book adaptations I found it to be rather sweet and not overly cliche or sickly sweet. It also didn’t rely on the creepy, predator-like charisma a lot of young adult films with romance in like to use between the main male and female characters.

The film was shot beautifully in terms of both the colours and general aesthetics – I thoroughly enjoyed how Nerve was presented and social media was mixed into the narrative. Furthermore, Nerve’s soundtrack and music was very similar to my own taste. I liked the look and feel of Nerve – a lot!

As with most films there was a twist at the end but I found this to play out well and it managed to surprise me without feeling forced or overly unrealistic.

Have you seen Nerve, or read the book it was adapted from? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too.

5 thoughts on “Nerve Film Review

  1. I saw Nerve when it was in cinema and I loved it. I was literally on the edge of my seat the entire way through. I haven’t read the book yet though so I don’t know how it compares

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

