Mini Review: The Witch’s Kiss

I got a copy of the first five chapters of The Witch’s Kiss and here are my thoughts in my first mini-review.

Mini Review: The Witch’s Kiss

I was provided with a copy of this five chapter sampler through Netgalley and here are my thoughts based on what I’ve read within the sample.

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 23.05.36.png

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine & Elizabeth Corr

I think this is another example of a promising premise that puts witch in the title or synopsis, gets me excited, and then puts a young adult twist that seems to water down the entire witch concept.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked The Witch’s Kiss, but it was an interesting premise that failed to deliver the excitement of a true witch story that I was looking for when I requested The Witch’s Kiss.

I suspect this series was intended for younger readers, and not someone who was looking for witches who bared any resemblance to writers with a similar intention to Terry Pratchett.

Given this was only a chapter sampler, there may be dramatic twists in the story later in the book: however, it quickly felt too predictable. The prince, a wizard, a witch who isn’t allowed to use her powers (for some reason, even though it becomes clear she would be much better off being trained to control it).

 

I felt like the plot had a rather slow build, and even in the chapters I was given as a sample, there was nothing that caught my attention to the point of being particularly eager to continue it. The moment I finished the sample I came to the conclusion it was the sort of thing I might pick up if I had time and nothing else interesting to read, but otherwise – there are more urgent things in my TBR pile.

Have you read The Witch’s Kiss or it’s sequel? Discovered any good, traditional witch-type novels? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too.

2 thoughts on “Mini Review: The Witch’s Kiss

Leave a Reply

