Down the TBR Hole #1

Since posting about my Goodreads Organisation, I’ve been trying to think of a way to reduce down my TBR pile. Then, I came across a feature called Down The TBR Hole over at Lizzy @ BentBookworm, originally created by Lia @ ImaginaryPlacesOnPaper.

Down The TBR Hole

Allow me to introduce this feature, Down The TBR Hole!

Most of you probably know this feeling. Your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realise that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well, that’s going to change!

The information to include in each post is:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books.
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

This week I’m going to start with the first five books on my TBR.

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 21.52.08.png

1. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

Author: Susanna Clarke

Date Added: 16th December 2015

SynopsisSynopsis Link

Decision: Yes, I’m definitely keeping this here! Ever since seeing the BBC tv show adaptation, I’m looking forward to getting round to reading this eventually. It’s not high on my priority list, but it’s here to stay.

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 21.57.46.png

2. Enclave

Author: Anna Aguirre

Date Added: 16th December 2015

SynopsisSynopsis Link

Decision: Yes, this one is also here to stay. Again, it isn’t a high priority right now but I would like to get around to it eventually.

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 22.03.18.png

3. The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Date Added: January 8th 2016

SynopsisSynopsis Link

Decision: Yes, while I’ve heard mixed things about this series I at least want to try the first book and I’m trying not to be put off by overhyped books. I never thought I’d like the Vampire Academy series, but as it turns out, the series is pretty good compared to what I was expecting.

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-00-11-26

4. Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Date Added: January 8th 2016

SynopsisSynopsis Link

Decision: Yes, because since reading Fangirl I will someday return to a Rainbow Rowell novel and out of all of them, Eleanor & Park is most likely to be the one I next chose. Again, it’s not a high priority – I have a lot of YA contemporaries I actually own to finish first.

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-00-11-33

5. Under The Never Sky

Author: Veronica Rossi

Date Added: January 8th 2016

SynopsisSynopsis Link

Decision: Yes, because although the synopsis makes me question whether I want this to remain on my list – and the cover also makes me a little uneasy – the goodreads rating is relatively high and the reviews I’ve skimmed read are good, so I’m prepared to give it a chance! Again, not a high priority but something I’m still considering.

Have you guys got a method to sort through your goodreads TBR? Do you find it difficult to keep your TBR under control? Do you try to reduce your TBR only to what you really want to read, or do you use it to list all the things you’ve even vaguely interested in?


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too.

8 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #1

  1. So glad you’re joining in!! I wasn’t too sure about The Raven Boys either, after the first book, but I *was* in love with the setting, and after the second book I’m in love. Good luck on your TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed Eleanor & Park and The Raven Boys, I actually wanted to reread the entire raven boys series once it was completely out.. Which it apparently now is. I think I read the first two books, but I don’t really remember, it feels like an eternity ago!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

