Assassin’s Creed Film Review

What better way to spend New Years day than watching Assassin’s Creed on the same day it’s released in the UK? This is my non-spoiler review of Assassin’s Creed, the movie adapted from the video game franchise of the same name.

Assassin’s Creed Non-Spoiler Review

Overall I’m rating Assassin’s Creed between a 3.5 and a 4*. This range in rating is for two reasons.

The first, it depends on your experience of Assassin’s Creed. If you’ve never heard of the games, you may still enjoy the film, but you won’t get the maximum amount of enjoyment from it. On the other hand, if you’re a huge fan and have played all games to completion, you’re more likely to love it to bits.

The second, it’s the first film in a franchise. Not only that, Assassin’s Creed has to stand up to the so-called ‘curse’ of video game to movie adaptations: it was bound to have some teething problems. In the case of Assassin’s Creed, I think the only issue is pacing: much like the game, there are periods of intense activity and action followed by length dialogue scenes. While this in-and-out structure works well for video games, I think it didn’t completely fit with being turned into a film. That being said, even with my incomplete Assassins Creed knowledge, I enjoyed it a lot more than I was expecting.

I don’t want to sound like I’m being overly critical; I don’t intend to be! My opinions of films are always impacted by what I saw last and what I thought of it: prior to Assassins Creed I saw Rogue One twice, and Assassins Creed is definitely not Rogue One, nor should anyone expect it to be.

The diversity, especially in a video game adaptation (video games are rarely thought of as the most diverse, especially with their inclusion of women and women of colour) which was encouraging to see.

There was definitely an attempt to include people from all walks of life and give them all action roles which I respected and I hope this continues to be expanded upon and explored both in-game and in the movie universe.

I really hope Assassins Creed is given at least one sequel film. Considering the rich backstory of that many films, this initial film did a good job at setting up an origin story and I think it deserves to be allowed to stretch it’s wings – alongside making cinema-goers re-evaluate the ‘curse’ of video game adaptations!

Have you seen Assassins Creed? Are you a fan of the franchise? Considering going to see the film? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too.

3 thoughts on “Assassin’s Creed Film Review

Leave a Reply

