Top 5 Books I’m Thankful For

It’s Christmas Day, I’ve been sick but I wanted to prepare something to post today! Here’s 5 books I’m thankful for.

Screen Shot 2016-12-24 at 20.29.17.png

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games was the first book I really remember connecting with. I loved that Katniss was unafraid to be herself, wasn’t great at making friends, and was more concerned with survival and protecting those she loved that the romance she was oblivious to. I found a lot of myself as Katniss and this first book was an opening into her world.

Screen Shot 2016-12-24 at 20.33.48.png

2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Another book and series I really connected with! I loved this fantasy young adult series and continue to look forward to Shadowhunter Chronicles.

Screen Shot 2016-12-24 at 20.32.43.png

3. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This was the first major ARC I got access to, and at such a young blog age it was truly an honour. I enjoyed the world building, narrative and all aspects of Nevernight immensely.

Screen Shot 2016-12-24 at 20.43.29.png

4. The Assassins Apprentice by Robin Hobb

Robin Hobb can be easily compared to George R R Martin, in the sense of writing epic fantasy novels, but I find her style preferable by far: description rich, her characters go to hell and back, with an immersive level of detail.

Screen Shot 2016-12-24 at 20.49.04.png

5. Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

I was introduced to this series by my Dad, and I’ve been a fan ever since. I hope to be reading a subsequent book in the series, The Hanging Tree, soon! I’m grateful for the Rivers of London series for bringing together urban fantasy, the British sense of humour, and London – the city in which I live.

Can you name five books you’re grateful for? What would your top picks be? Have any thoughts about my choices? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I’m Thankful For

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog and i love it ! :) And I think it’s amazing that you live in London. I’m jealous, I visited london in july this year and fell in love. I hope to add a book section to my blog soon.
    Phoebe from Australia :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

