REVIEW: Frostbite by Richelle Mead

This is my review for Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead! As always, unless otherwise stated, book reviews at Novellique are spoiler free. Check out other reviews at Novellique here.

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 17.58.18.png

Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead

WHEN LOVE AND JEALOUSY COLLIDE ON THE SLOPES, WINTER BREAK TURNS DEADLY… Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.
Rose has serious guy trouble. Her gorgeous tutor, Dimitri, has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason has a huge crush on her, and she keeps getting stuck in her best friend Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian.
Then a nearby Strigoi attack puts St. Vladimir’s on high alert, and the Academy whisks its students away on a mandatory holiday ski trip. But the glittering winter landscape and posh Idaho resort only provide the illusion of safety. When three students run away to strike back against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. Only this time, Rose – and her heart – are in more danger than she ever could have imagined…

TITLE.

I’m finding that general titles of Vampire Academy novels aren’t that significant in the vampire novel cliche style, but I guess Frostbite in the setting of a ski resort makes sense. This Vampire Academy novel was more about the winter break than actual term time, but this makes sense time-wise.

COVER.

I’m not a great fan of the cover of any of the Vampire Academy novels, although the minimalistic alternative design is better than the default goodreads cover, if I had to pick between them.

CHARACTER.

Rose frustrated me. She frustrated me for the first half of the book but especially in the first few chapters with how often she would repeat and obsess over Dimitri’s attractiveness. Girl, we get it – he’s hot and you like him. We know. It was especially jarring since in the last book there were no where near as many references to his physical attractiveness.

PLOT.

I think this one was slightly slow to start, but I’m learning that is a common theme with Vampire Academy – the start will be readable and enjoyable but once the action starts, it really starts. The format was essentially the same as the last book, but enough was different to keep me interested and invested with the characters. By the end was when it really hit me – I felt like my heart had been removed from my chest. Here’s my initial coherent thoughts from my Goodreads update:

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-22-55-05

OVERALL.

Before the last hundred pages, I was going to rate this a 3.5*. I was frustrated by Rose since it felt she had reverted back to the beginning of the first Vampire Academy book – she felt shallow – but I admire how she changes over Frostbite. She matures, by a lot, and I hope this progress is maintained in the next book. Therefore, Frostbite has earned a rating of a 3.75*: not on the same level as the first book, but a decent second book once it got going.

Have you guys read any of the Vampire Academy series? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?

Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?

I’m there & Instagram too.

One thought on “REVIEW: Frostbite by Richelle Mead

Leave a Reply

