How To: Goodreads Organisation

This How To post is going to talk about organising Goodreads shelves. Previous How To posts are available here.

How To: Goodreads Organisation

I’m someone who likes everything to be organised a certain way. I hate leaving things messy or unfinished, even if I’m too lazy to change or tidy both physical and virtual shelves.

This one is going be more of a ‘how I did it’ rather than a ‘how to’. Let me know if you like posts more in this style!

Therefore, I’m making the decision to tidy out my Goodreads and create shelves relevant both to myself and others. I want to make it clear which books are being reviewed as ARCs, which are review copies and which are as part of studying.

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-23-05-45

This is my starting point. It’s messy, and the leftover remains of when I tried to be over-organised and complex. The first thing I decided to do was remove my need to finish shelves and personal statement shelves.

screen-shot-2016-12-07-at-23-06-39

What I did was clean up all the categories I was sure I didn’t need. Next, I created my DNF as an exclusive shelf: what this means is any books on the DNF shelf will not be put on my read, currently reading or to read – it should now be clearer which books I didn’t finish and which books I read. I also removed my library shelf and removed recommendations based on my studied shelf.

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 23.12.33.png

I’m super happy with how my shelves have now worked out! Keep an eye out soon for a post about formatting Goodreads reviews and basic html.

Want any other talk topics or tutorials about using Goodreads? How do you guys organise your goodreads? Have any suggestions to make my goodreads life easier? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?

Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?

I’m there & Instagram too.

7 thoughts on “How To: Goodreads Organisation

  1. My New Year’s Res is to clean out my shelves of books I no longer intend to read, but I like having shelves for diff genres…I don’t make shelves like some ppl who make them titled “kick ass heroine” or “MC I want to kill” because those are confusing as hell. Mainly I do the genre and then if it’s a book from Netgalley or Edelweiss (or a RaR misc), just so I can keep track of what I need to finish and where I got the books from.
    I like your minimalist approach though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was aiming to strip back all my shelves to the basics so I could add in shelves later. I want to organise my blog by genre via the tags, so when you search for ‘fantasy’ it brings up all the fantasy novels I’ve read, but I keep all my review copies and ARCs in one place because I can usually remember where they’re from (I’ll only be reading two requested books at once so it’s relatively easy to keep track of).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

