Goodreads Monday #1

Goodreads Monday is a weekly feature hosted by Lauren @ Lauren’s Page Turners in which you pick a book from your goodreads TBR at random and highlight it. I thought this was a great idea to talk about books that aren’t given enough notice. Future Goodreads Monday posts will appear here!

Goodreads Monday #1

I proudly present the first Goodreads Monday, belonging to…

Screen Shot 2016-11-21 at 17.06.59.png

Lobsters by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

Sam and Hannah only have the holidays to find ‘The One’. Their lobster. But instead of being epic, their summer is looking awkward. They must navigate social misunderstandings, the plotting of well-meaning friends, and their own fears of being virgins for ever to find happiness. But fate is at work to bring them together. And in the end, it all boils down to love.

Fun fact about this one: I know one of the authors. Sort of. There’s nothing stranger than writing about this years later and realising how much has changed. During year 9 of my secondary school (I would have been about 13), I was invited into the G&T English club. This Gifted & Talented programme was for anyone who scored particularly highly in English. I’d been involved with another English project before, but it was still exciting. What this essentially became was a creative writing club every week. The person in charge of the club? Lucy Ivision, when she was due to publish this exact novel and was trying to get the publishers to agree on a title.

Somewhere between being aged 13 and being aged 16, I completely forgot about this book until I saw it being sold in Waterstones last year. I recognised the author and realised it was the same book. How weird is that?


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?

Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?

I’m there & Instagram too.

4 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday #1

    • It was definitely a strange feeling to realise I knew one of the authors, before she’d published anything! I can remember the different titles they went through before settling on Lobsters and it’s really weird thinking back all those years ago.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

