[November] Book Of The Month

Book of the Month is a new monthly feature where I highlight one book I’ve especially enjoyed in the month. Read on to find out my Book of the Month for Novemeber.

I want to start highlighting things I like and authors I want to promote outside of mainstream). Books won’t be picked on their popularity – popular books may be picked alongside indie books).

November Book Of The Month

Without further ado, I present: the Novellique November Book Of The Month!

darken3

And I Darken by Kiersten White

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwyla likes it that way. Ever since she and her brother were abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman sultan’s courts, Lada has known that ruthlessness is the key to survival. For the lineage that makes her and her brother special also makes them targets.

Why And I Darken?

When I pick a book of the month, I don’t want to just gush about it – I want to prove it deserves Book Of The Month.

  1. COMPLEXITY. The simplest way I can describe And I Darken is Game of Thrones in YA. While it isn’t as complex as a long running adult fantasy series, the politics are tightly wound with the narrative. I felt it was a nice balance between readable and complex: the politics didn’t drown out the story nor become a barrier to my understanding.
  2. CHARACTERISATION. In the barren landscape of authors in fantasy unable or unwilling to write complex, fierce, rebellious female characters – Lada and her brother stand side by side. Lada doesn’t care about your expectations of who she should be, nor does the books itself, and this is why I absolutely loved it.
  3. DIVERSITY. I absolutely refuse to spoil anything if I can help it, but there is one prominent LGBT character with the possibility of several others.
  4. STRENGTH. Overall, I loved the way characters were shown as being strong in different ways. Lada is strong with intelligence and physically capable of fighting, but disliked. Radu is strong with charisma and the exact inverse of Lada. Even Mehmed is strong with reputation as a male Sultan, but constantly battling to keep his title.

Read my full review of And I Darken here.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?

Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?

I’m there & Instagram too

Leave a Reply

