How To: Blogging Emails

The How To: series are posts covering a range of topics related book review and blogging in general. You can check out previous posts here.

I’m enjoying the How To series I’ve been creating week by week, and I wanted to start to talk about aspects of blogging I consider being essential or aspects that are rarely explained. This how to guide in particular is intended as a beginners guide from things I’ve picked up in the past five months.

How To: Blogging Emails

Having a way for others to contact you when running any blog is important – but I think for book blogging it can be really be the difference between involvement and isolation.

First, I’d like to talk about the reasons for looking into creating an email specific to your blog.

  • WHY? While you can use your personal email for blogging emails, you might want to consider the image you project. Imagine being contacted by someone with the email name pinkfluffyunicorn12345 compared to your blog name (say, Novellique for example). The latter conveys the message you are capable of being professional despite blogging as a hobby.
  • NEWSLETTERS/EMAILING LISTS. Another benefit is being able to use a blog email for newsletters, emailing lists and social media accounts. As you grow, publishers and authors will most likely also start to contact you.
  • BOOK REVIEW REQUESTS. When I first started blogging I was receiving a few book review requests from indie authors. Once I got onto book reviewing directories, I began to receive three or more book review requests daily. Luckily I’d set up a contact page with a form sending these requests in a specific format to my blog email, but without a blog email this may have been difficult to control.
  • SOCIAL MEDIA. Having a blog specific email also allows you to assign this to all and any social media accounts you create. Two twitter accounts? No problem! Always forgetting which email is assigned to your instagram? No problem!
  • THAT’S NOT ALL. This applies specifically to using gmail since I’m such a fan of their email accounts in particular: alongside just emails you’ll also get Drive, Calendar and Docs as well as a couple of other features. Therefore you can backup book reviews in Drive and Docs (editing them on the go, in the cloud, is also an option) while using Calendar to arrange your posting schedule).

Now you’ve got an email, you might want a few tips to help manage it.

  • SUBJECT. Always use the subject line to sum up the topic of your email. Keep it short and sweet.
  • INTRODUCTION. Get together a brief introduction or selling point. It doesn’t have to be long or complicated – a few sentences about who you are and what sort of blog you run is a good way to start off a conversation with an author, brand or fellow blogger.
  • MANNERS. Finally – while you don’t have to be super formal, you need to be polite and clear. Always consider the impression you’re making. This can be difficult when an author or publisher attempts to get you to run a post you aren’t comfortable with, or ignores your review policy, but practice will make this easier with time.

What do you guys think? Did I miss something? Have anything else to add? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?

Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?

I’m there & Instagram too.

6 thoughts on “How To: Blogging Emails

  1. I’d like to add that if you have a Microsoft address, you can add an alias so that all email comes into your main account and all replies go out under the alias.

    Just go into your account info –> Your Info tab –> Manage How You Sign In To Outlook and click on Add Email.

    You can’t really do this on Gmail, all you can do is set up a new account and link it to your main Gmail account and it was a clumsy and difficult thing to do.

    Like

  2. Mine may not be pinkfluffyunicorn but it might as well be. I try to use my school email address because it uses gmail. I don’t think i could handle having another email account: I have one from Muskegon Community College, AOL, and Gmail. That’s enough for me. But good point about the email address! Lol! 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

