Topical Talk: Hauls

I enjoyed writing and reading the responses to the first topical talk, so I’ve swapped it out with Tag Tuesday for a few weeks. This week’s topic is hauls!

Before I start, I’d like to invite everyone reading this to make their own Topical Tuesday post about the same topics. I’d love to hear what you guys have to say!

Topical Talk: Hauls

This one has been on my mind for awhile. I have a love hate relationship with BookTube – I love the aesthetics, yet also hate them. A lot of the time, book hauls feel materialistic – like showing off all the belongings you have.

I love the idea of making hauls, and publishing hauls – I love hauls. They appeal to me. The problem is, every time I go on a binge watch or read of hauls, I can’t help but question why.

When thinking about making a haul, I think about the lighting. The background. It sometimes feels as though I’m most focused on how the images look rather than the actual blogging itself.

Yet I’ll continue to want to make haul posts, and bookmail posts, and unboxings. I dream about the day I’ll be able to receive pretty books and unbox packages from publishers. Perhaps its materialistic, perhaps I should enjoy blogging for what it is – and I do. Blogging was one of the best decisions to give me an outlet in between studying. But I can’t help feeling that book hauls present a slightly darker side to the book community. It’s just a thought I’ve been having for awhile.

What do you guys think about book halls? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?

Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?

I’m there & Instagram too.

6 thoughts on “Topical Talk: Hauls

  1. I definitely think hauls can be a bit a materialistic at times especially on BookTube. It may not be intentional, but it definitely makes me feel a little jealous sometimes haha. It’s also why I don’t really Bookstagram because I don’t have the means to have those aesthetically pleasing photos.

    That said, I do love hauls ect. because I can discover new books and I love seeing people talk about books they’re excited for!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, on Instagram I find it difficult to respect my own pictures because despite being a photographer, there are others who have much prettier pictures. It’s all down to the light (having white walls and surfaces means a little light is super effective) but I don’t have the time to get everything perfect.

      Like

  2. I think hauls can be a bit materialistic and probably a bit saddening for people struggling to afford their books but I do like getting to see what specific bloggers are choosing each week/ month so it’s a bit of a toss up.

    Personally I like unboxing posts, especially for subscription boxes etc. When I was choosing which ones to go for unboxing/ opinion posts about the items where really useful to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

