October Wrap Up

October has been an incredibly short month. Now that I’m settled into college I’m finding myself much more relaxed and overall happier.

Missed previous months? Catch up on the September Wrap Up post by following the link. I’m mixing up the format a little – let me know what you think!

October Wrap Up

In the month of October, according to Goodreads I’ve read (3) books.

Half Blood by Jennifer L Armentrout was an enjoyable vampire young adult novel that I finished right between September and October. Although disliked by some for its similarities with Vampire Academy, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series!

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead was a series I’d taken a long time to try out, but after enjoying Half Blood so much I figured it was worth a shot. While I enjoyed it not quite as much as Half Blood, and despite their similarities, reading these two one after the other was quite satisfying. Tracking down the next book in the series is proving to be difficult so I may have to buy it, but I’m looking forward to reading Frostbite.

Smile of the Harlequin by Veronica Cervilla was a book I was given to review by the author. While I had some issues with the narrative style, I loved the concept and it was a unique method of storytelling that I haven’t experienced before.

This month I DNF (2) books, which were: Half Bad by Sally Green and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – the latter of which I wish I could get into but found the initial chapter extremely difficult to get through. It didn’t grab me, which is a shame. Similar, Half Bad didn’t particularly interest me or connect me to any of the characters.

Finally, let’s take a look at the full list of my to-be-finished reads:

  • The Next Together by Lauren James (20% complete)
  • 1984 by George Orwell (50% complete)
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (30% complete)
  • The Heirs of Lydin by Aidan Hennessy (20% complete)
  • And I Darken by Kiersten White (50% complete)

What’s reading been like for you guys? Have you been reading more or less than expected? Let me know in the comments!


Don’t forget to like and follow if you’ve enjoyed this post!

Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too.

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

  1. I read more than I expected…made me happy since the last couple of months were kind of slumps for me. Not sure how November is going to go since I’m participating (sort of) in NaNoWriMo…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve gone the complete opposite. Five is a good number for me to hit but I just don’t have the time to read that much – I also need to get back into the habit of taking a book everywhere with me to read. I would get so much more read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

