The Season Of Book Blogging Tag

I saw this tag over at Lindsey @ A Piece Of Paradis and thought I’d give it a go – this is The Season Of Book Blogging Tag!

1. October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

I’m already planning to dress up as Melisandre from A Song Of Ice And Fire – I already have the red hair, which I’m planning to re-dye to cover the rest of my hair rather than just the ends, and the rest of the costume should be relatively easy.

2. November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

City of Bones. I wasn’t really recommended it by anyone – I actually mistook it for something else, the Stanza series, but enjoyed it so much I continued reading.

3. December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

Nevernight. I gave my spare copy to my dad since having three versions of the same books is a little excessive (and I’d already bought the limited edition red-paged UK version, which came signed and numbered).

4. January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

My new years resolution was to be happy, and that’s gone relatively well. No one is happy all the time, but I feel like I’m happier now that I was last year – which is good!

5. February is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

Clary and Jace from The Mortal Instruments, as well as Alec/Magnus and Simon/Izzy. Everyone from The Mortal Instruments, essentially. You can’t make me chose a favourite! Will and Tessa from The Infernal Devices, too – as much as I loved Jem, unfortunately I’m loyal to the Herondales.

6. March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

The Harry Potter series – lets be honest, doesn’t everyone wish they could relive the Harry Potter series?

7. April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

Gone by Michael Grant is a book I tried so hard to get interested in, but just couldn’t. While I liked the premise, I hated the narrative and the writing style. Also, more recently, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi – another annoyance because I loved the opening and the poetic style but slowly began to hate the plot more and more. I think it’s such an aesthetic series but it’s contents don’t live up to it’s potential.

8. May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

The Peter Grant: Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch – I’ve met the author at my first (and, so far, only) book signing. I wasn’t expecting to love the series as much as I did and continue to wait for the next release. It’s like a British guy combined Harry Potter and the police service in a weird, wonderful twist of fate.

9. June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

I don’t usually reread books to chill out – I’ll lose myself in whatever I’m currently reading as a way to cope with whatever’s going on. I can, however, say what I don’t read: contemporary. I still have several waiting on my shelf to be read but they hit so close to home I’m having to be slow but steady.

10. July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. When will I stop talking about this? Never!

11. August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

Does it count that I’m listing authors who already are popular but I believe will continue to be so? Alice Oseman and Jay Kristoff are my main ones to watch. That’s not at all to say they haven’t been successful yet – they both definitely are – but I think they both have greater things to come, too.

12. September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine is a book I believe everyone should read. I don’t usually like poetry, but Rankine’s work is more of a social commentary than strict poetry. Listening to her talk about race and racism in interviews, and reading her work, sticks with me.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading? Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter? I’m there & Instagram too


 

4 thoughts on “The Season Of Book Blogging Tag

Leave a Reply

