The Shuffle Book Tag

This was inspired by Emma @ Lladyliterary who technically tagged anyone who’d read a book on her list. I’m a huge John Green and Cassandra Clare fan, although I probably would’ve done this tag regardless because I have no shame.

The Shuffle Book Tag Rules:

  1. Shuffle your iTunes library, google play music library, or whatever you’ve got.
  2. For each song that comes on, list the song and the artist, and name a book it makes you think of, explaining why. (You can do this as many or as few as you want, I’m not going to set a number. This is a low pressure tag. Whoever we are, we’re pretty laid back.)

 until we go down – ruelle

-> THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS, by CASSANDRA CLARE

AND I FEEL IT RUNNING THROUGH MY VEINS / AND I NEED THAT FIRE JUST TO KNOW THAT I’M AWAKE.

I first heard this as the opening soundtrack to The Shannara Chronicles (an amazing first season, especially for one produced by MTV – I’m working on a review at the moment) – but Ruelle isn’t new to me. Monsters, another of her songs, was used in one of the Shadowhunters trailers (not such a good show, won’t be reviewing this one although I may talk about it since I don’t think I have much already). I absolutely love Ruelle for atmospheric music, and I can see why “teenage” shows use her music as the lyrics are simple yet slightly poetical.

centuries – fall out boy

-> NEVERNIGHT, by JAY KRISTOFF

SOME LEGENDS ARE TOLD / SOME TURN TO DUST OR TO GOLD / BUT YOU WILL REMEMBER ME / FOR CENTURIES – AND JUST ONE MISTAKE, IS ALL IT WILL TAKE / YOU WILL REMEMBER ME / FOR CENTURIES.

An epic song for an epic novel – the song and book match perfectly. Any time I hear a song like this I instantly think of NEVERNIGHT, especially since it’s such a popular book at the moment, rightly so.

innocence – nero

-> ILLUMINAE by AMIE KAUFMAN & JAY KRISTOFF

INNOCENCE / YOU’LL NEVER BE MINE.

This is a relatively recent association compared to the rest. If you’ve read ILLUMINAE, picture a certain artificial intelligence and the one true badass Kady. Am I the only one? Hmm, I think it’s to do with the electronic music – pretty much anything by Nero apparently reminds me of ILLUMINAE. This entire experience is making me wish I had time to get back into trying to edit videos and music – fan trailers are a thing I’ve been wanting to try for ages but I can’t give myself any further ideas for procrastination.

handle this right now – bo burnham

-> SOLITAIRE, by ALICE OSEMAN

I DON’T THINK THAT I CAN HANDLE THIS RIGHT NOW / THEY DON’T EVEN KNOW THE HALF OF THIS RIGHT NOW / LOOK AT THEM, THEY’RE JUST STARING AT ME / LIKE COME AND WATCH THE / SKINNY KID WITH A STEADILY DECLINING MENTAL HEALTH / AND LAUGH AS HE ATTEMPTS TO GIVE YOU WHAT HE CANNOT GIVE HIMSELF.

While Bo Burnham’s work isn’t technically a song in the traditional sense (I’d call it musical comedy although it’s the sort of thing you need to hear to understand) but it hugely inspired author Alice Oseman, hence my choice for this song. SOLITAIRE and RADIO SILENCE remind me of the two comedy shows by Bo Burnham: what and Make Happy. The former reminds me particularly of SOLITAIRE, and the latter RADIO SILENCE. I think it’s interesting to see an artist who inspires an author and being a fan of both the books and songs.

This tag was great fun for me – I love comparing music to books while talking about it, so I’m considering making this a monthly feature, perhaps. What do you think? Would you like to see more? Have any songs that remind you of books or visa versa? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too


 

Leave a Reply

