REVIEW: Half Blood

A few weeks ago I won a copy of Half Blood, a novel I hadn’t heard of but from an author I was curious about – here’s what I thought!

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 19.13.55.png

HALF BLOOD by Jennifer L Armentrout

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi – pure-bloods – have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals – well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow.

TITLE [5/5] It’s a simple title with the essence of the story: the difference between half-blood and pure-blood.

COVER [4/5] It’s not a bad cover, nor is it a good cover – I’m pretty neutral with this one. On one hand I feel like the cover doesn’t particularly reflect the style of the book, but on the other hand I’m just grateful it doesn’t have the cliché, over used vampire-girl-on-cover.

PLOT [4/5] The interpretation of daimons was something I found original and interesting as it mixed together aspects of demons using glamour alongside vampires – almost as though it was mix between the Shadowhunter Chronicles and Harry Potter in terms of how race and demon fighting. However, it didn’t feel like it was attempting to rip of either of these novels, which I was slightly concerned about.

CHARACTERS [3.5/5] Characters were the only place where I felt frustrated in the beginning half. While I feel the main character, Alex, does mature hugely through the book, there were several things that initially bugged me about her. Most noticeably, the repetition of “ho bag”. Her speech was initially quite shallow, which I found strange as when we first meet Alex, she’s been surviving on her own after the death of her mother. If we had seen this immature behaviour at the very beginning, for example in a prologue, I think I would have been more willing to put it to one side as it would show a logical character progression from shallow to attempting to survive. However, it felt as though Alex took two steps backwards right at the start. Being independent didn’t seem to have taught her anything – that’s my only real complaint.

OVERALL [4/5] Despite it’s – at times – rocky start I enjoyed HALF BLOOD. I was especially glad that the relationship between Alex and Aidan was quite healthy in comparison to most urban fantasy young adult novels at the moment, especially when there are themes of vampires (although this isn’t a vampire novel, it takes inspiration from certain aspects).


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too


 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Half Blood

  1. Nice review! I really like how you rate each part separately. That’s such a good idea and makes it very easy to read. I’ve been eyeing this book up for a while now. I really liked the Lux series, but I still need to finish the last two books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m noticing a lot of comparisons between Half Blood and Vampire Academy, but to be honest they’re different enough to be good in their own way. I haven’t read the Lux series yet, but I want to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

