Blogger Recognition Award

Thank you very much to Pierina @ Pierinareads for nominating me in the Blogger Recognition Award.

Blogger Recognition Award

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

Starting My Blog…

I’d tried blogging in so many different formats and for so many different topics. I’d been watching BookTube for some time – especially Christine who continues to inspire me. Then, one day in the week I had off before my last AS exam, I signed up for a wordpress. I don’t remember exactly how I came to the blog name Novellique, but it’s meant to be a combination of Novel and Unique. Novellique – technically the double ‘l’ shouldn’t be there, but I like how it looks and sounds. For the record, I pronounce it: Nov-el-eek. In summary, this blog was totally born from procrastination. Procrastinator and proud! Or something…

Advice…

  • You don’t need a strict blogging schedule but you should use the schedule function.  If you’re posting less than once a week, you should seriously consider queueing up a set of posts – I do this for Tag Tuesday sometimes up to three weeks in advance. At the moment I’m sorted until the middle of October, with more half-finished stuff in my drafts. This ensures I post once a week. I also have Reading Update drafts ready and waiting to be filled out in the run up to Friday. Then I schedule anything else usually every other day to ensure an even spread of content.

  • Don’t expect interaction if you don’t go out and get it. Liking a post isn’t enough – contribute to the community, comment on other people’s posts and get involved. It can be scary at first, but look for people who ask questions at the end of their posts: What are you reading? What do you think? Generate a discussion and others will be more willing to do the same for you. It certainly isn’t a game of statistics, but if you look at the blogs with many, many likes/comments, you’ll see them in other people’s blog posts far more often.

I’m Tagging…

  1. Amy @ NovelGossip
  2. Nina @ WhatTheNina
  3. Lauren @ WonderlessReviews
  4. Zainab @ TeenBookLit101
  5. Paige @ PaigeHadleyWriter

EDIT: Technical difficulties – accidentally didn’t paste the tagged people in from another draft, can’t believe I missed it for two days. Sorry for the delay!

Thank you for reading!


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com


 

9 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. I love hearing the story behind how people started their blogs. BookTube and procrastination definitely motiated me too haha. I love the concept of how you came up with your name too!! Excellent tips too! I really need to get better at scheduling posts 😅 The interaction tip is so true too. I remember being really worried to interact with everyone, but everyone was so welcoming!!

    Thanks so much for the nomination. I’ve done this one already, but I appreciate the thought so much ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • The book community is definitely one of the nicer blogging circles – I feel like people comment on other people’s posts and content to have a genuine discussion rather than to try and get more of their own views.

      Like

  2. This is a great post with great advice! I love the part about being part of the community. As a new blogger/book reviewer I have been thinking about this a lot lately. I haunt a lot of book review blogs but I barely comment. I should let people know more often I enjoy their blogs and the effort they put into posts. Thanks again for this great post! I’m looking forward to checking out the rest of your blog today. Anymore advice on how to get connected to the community would be welcome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I 2nd what Anne said!
    The interacting part has come really slowly for me… mainly because sometimes life is so dang busy and there ain’t enough hours in the day to leave a meaningful comment to each post… however, I do always keep up with my blogging buddies… :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah – of course, I didn’t intend to suggest a blogger should spend their life commenting on every post they see (I certainly don’t have enough hours in the day either) but for a newbie keeping up with certain bloggers can help – and it’s how we learn, after all! The number of times I’ve seen something on another blog and decided to create my own thing inspired by it – even monthly wrap ups and TBRS.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t expect interaction if you don’t go out and get it. Hear, hear! This seems to be the topic of the month because I see it everywhere (okay, so a few blogs ;) ). There are so many bloggers out there who just can’t be arsed to comment yet then wonder why nobody does on their posts. Geez, Louise! Anywho, totally solid advice you’re giving here. And procrastinator and proud is a thing! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

