Halloween ReadAThon TBR

This was created by Lauren @ Wonderlessreviews and the minute I saw the title and halloween emojis I knew it was the perfect thing to motivate my reading. You see, I’m a completionist – a perfectionist, too. I hate leaving things unfinished. Therefore, this Halloween ReadAThon is perfect.

Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

costume-partyPretty self explanatory. There’s no “guidelines” if you think a cover is creepy for whatever reason then it counts!

For this category I’m going to suggest, in terms of an intimidating cover, AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White which is a book I’ve started reading but need the motivation to finish. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a book I was enjoying. I just keep picking up other things and I really need to get back into it.

haunted-houseBy Supernatural or Paranormal I mean books that feature things such as: ghosts, vampires, witches, werewolves ect.

For this category I’ve chosen VAMPIRE ACADEMY by Rachael Mead – I know, I know, this is a series most people have already read. I’ve been avoiding it because I’ve had bad experiences in the past with vampire books ever since Twilight. Side note: I didn’t think Twilight was that bad, for what it was. I hated the films, but the books themselves were enjoyable when I read them. Since then, however, finding good vampire books is near impossible. I’m finally wiling to give VAMPIRE ACADEMY a chance. Updates will let you know how it goes. I’m also reading HALF-BLOOD by Jennifer L Armentrout so this may go in this category, depending on how my reading goes.

urban-legendsIn my opinion people are scarier than monsters so for Horror or Thriller this means a book where real people are the ones who are causing all the scariness.

For this category I’ve chosen THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN by Paula Hawkins which I’m already partially reading, so perhaps this is bending the rules a little? Regardless it’s a book I was enjoying but need some motivation to pick back up, and I think this category suits it.

witching-hourAgain, pretty self explanatory. Fun fact: the witching hour is 3am-4am, but obviously I’m not going to force you all to read at that time 😅. Unless you’re like me and have insomnia. So just read a book after the sun has set!

For this category I’m leaving it open once again, because the majority of books I read are after sunset. I rarely read during the day, firstly because college and also because I read before I sleep. However, I may start reading on my commute to and from college, which will speed up what I’m reading.

trick-or-treatThere’s two options for this challenge. You can choose TRICK and read a scary book you’ve been putting off OR you can choose TREAT and read any book you want from ANY genre (not just horrors ect.)

For this category I’m choosing the TREAT option and therefore leaving it free for a book I can decide on later. I get the feeling I’ll be swapping books around quite a bit as I update everything, but this is my first time taking part in a Read-A-Thon, so I’m quite happy to just go with it and see what happens.

all-hallows-eveRead six books! Your sixth book can be any scary book you want. Only do this if you want! I know how it is to feel intimidated by read-a-thons so I really wanted to try and make this as relaxing as possible. There’s probably no way I’m going to be able to do this, but it’s fun to try!

Since the rules say I’m allowed to use multiple books across different challenges, I’m leaving this section for either a) everything I read in other categories or b) anything else I read which doesn’t fit into these categories.


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

14 thoughts on “Halloween ReadAThon TBR

  1. Like you, I’m a total completionist! :D I’m so excited for this challenge! Vampire Academy is also on my TBR for the same category. I keep hearing good things about VA, so I’m hoping I’ll like it! Happy spooky reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Halloween Read-A-Thon – Abigail's Books

  3. Pingback: 👻🎃 Halloween Read-A-Thon: Announcement & Details!!! 🎃👻 – wonderless reviews

Leave a Reply

