Reading Update #1

I’m trying out another type of weekly post called the reading update. It’ll cover what I’m reading, how I’m feeling about my current reads, as well as what I’m planning to read next – a sort of reading journal on a weekly basis.

[Friday] Reading Update | 16th September 2016

In this weekly reading update we’ll be covering what I’m reading, what I’ve recently read, what I want to read next as well as my most recent reviews and the books I’m studying.

  • I’M CURRENTLY READING…

NINETEEN EIGHTY FOUR by George Orwell, a book I’ve wanted to read for a long time. It’s unusual and reads very differently to books I’ve read before but I’m enjoying it now that the pace has picked up a little.

  • RECENTLY I’VE FINISHED…

THE HANDMAID’S TALE by Margaret Atwood was my last read, a thoroughly enjoying dystopia read.

  • MY LAST THREE REVIEWS ARE…

THE HANDMAID’S TALE by Margaret Atwood which I rated 4/5 and had some interesting discussion in the comments reading deeper into some of the plot points.

THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir, which I rated 4.5/5 and if I get around to seeing the film I may also post a review for that, too.

HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD by J.K Rowling which I rated 4.5/5 and has both a spoiler and spoiler free section.

  • NEXT I’M READING…

HALF-BLOOD by Jennifer L Armentrout which I won as part of a FairyLoot Twitter Giveaway – I’m really curious because I keep hearing about it from certain people in the book community and I think I need something in between reading 1984. Apparently it’s similar to Cassie’s work and I’m definitely down for something like that.

  • I’M ALSO STUDYING…

KING LEAR by William Shakespeare as part of my English Literature second year A Level texts.

LEAVES OF GRASS by Walt Whitman also as part of my English Literature second year A Level texts.

CITIZEN: AN AMERICAN LYRIC by Claudia Rankine which I’m continuing to study from the last few weeks of my first year A level.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too


 

One thought on “Reading Update #1

Leave a Reply

