The Pastry Book Tag

I saw this incredible tag at A @ GoingThroughBooks and decided to try it out – honestly, anytime I see the word pastry I’m going to be attracted to it.

The Pastry Book Tag

Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.14.18.png

I can name a vast number of popular series that I also love. HARRY POTTER, THE HUNGER GAMES, THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS, THE INFERNAL DEVICES, A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and  both Alice Oseman’s SOLITAIRE & RADIO SILENCE to name just a few. I’m now noticing I like less of the most popular books within the popular young adult book communities (especially on Youtube) but this seems to be because my reading tastes are changing. I went through a huge contemporary phase in June/July and now I’m back to fantasy.

Macaroon: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.15.03.png

GAME OF THRONES and subsequent novels in A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE took me a long time, but was definitely worth it. I’m beyond excited for WINDS OF WINTER, but the only problem is I’ll probably have forgotten minor details which may turn into huge plot points. People who complain about the complex nature of the TV series make me laugh – little do they know the pages upon pages of details about characters who will never be mentioned ever again.

Vol-Au-Vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.17.17.png

SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi. I’ve talked about this before, because I continue to be annoyed by how much potential I felt the book had. Prior to reading it, I was considering buying the entire series because I loved the concept and the covers were stunning. After reading the first, though, I’m more than a little disappointed and I highly doubt I’ll be reading the rest of the series. It felt similar to how I felt after reading ALLEGIANT, which is a book I continue to have many mixed emotions over.

Pain Au Chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.12.03

THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST by Holly Black was a great book that wasn’t entirely as I expected. Similar to THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE by Patrick Ness, it combined contemporary and fantasy in a way that rarely works (although in the case of these two examples, it did). They’re two refreshing standalone novels that I definitely recommend to all.

Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.18.35.png

Robin Hobb as a fantasy author: simpler than A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE, but with rich detail and an engaging set of series all taking place in the same world. Of course it’s a series too long to attract the attention of most young adult readers, and as it covers the entirety of the main characters life, it’s debatable as to whether it’s technically even young adult. Still, it’s under appreciated.

Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.21.00.png

The obvious answer here is GAME OF THRONES and it’s wider series A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE.

Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.22.21.png

I’m really struggling with this one – I think I’ll have to say the novellisation of STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS although this is understandable since the film came first. The novellisation is pretty decent, but the film itself is one of my favourite films of all time.

Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.23.30.png

The ending to MOCKINGJAY – I’ve talked about this in a previous tag post. I understand and respect why MOCKINGJAY ended the way it did, but that doesn’t mean I particularly liked it. I think with time it’s easier to accept the ending for what it was, and the book’s portrayal of the ending was just as powerful as the book’s.

Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.26.35.png

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS takes place in Kabul, as well as the hundreds of North American YA contemporary novels. I read much more North American Literature than British, purely because North American seems to be more popular and when I was initially introduced to Goodreads and online book reading communities, the majority of novels I saw were based either in present-day North America or were dystopias based around (usually) the US.

Pate A Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 19.25.30.png

I think I’m going to be cheating here since I actually have tried this based on a book, but turkish delight from THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE. Fun fact – the film was the reason I tried turkish delight and since it’s become a sort of christmas tradition to have turkish delight at christmas. Rose is of course my favourite, although around three years ago I went to a market in Central London where a particular stall had all sorts of different flavours.

As usual, I tag whoever wants to take part in this tag! It’s something I’ve had in my drafts about a week because I keep getting too hungry every time I look at it.


 

Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


 

2 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

Leave a Reply

