How I Read Tag

I first saw McKenzie @ BookishThingsAndTea with this How I Read tag, and decided it was a great set of questions. I love tags which are based around getting to know a blogger, and I haven’t done one in awhile, so this tag was ideal.

How I Read Tag

HOW DO YOU FIND OUT ABOUT NEW BOOKS TO READ?

I’ll check out other blogs, Twitter and look at general book buying websites such as Amazon and Book Depository. I’ll then double check this with Goodreads to get a general sense of the overall opinion of the book – anything below 3.00 will instantly be crossed off, and anything between 3.00-3.40 I will still consider but will perhaps borrow rather than buy myself. Above a 4.00 will pretty much be an instant buy, or at least will weigh in the books favour.

HOW DID YOU GET INTO READING?

Both my parents are librarians. When I was growing up, only my Mum worked in libraries, but she would regularly bring home books for me to read. Of course before this I was read to a lot and I remember having HARRY POTTER read to me when I was quite young. THE HUNGER GAMES was the first series I remember becoming involved with fandom wise and although I read a lot before then, it introduced me to the presence of books online. Then, during my secondary school years (11-16) I had a group of friends who helped out at the library, along wit the librarian. We would share recommendations and generally enjoyed discussing books. I miss that group of people, spanning three or four year groups at its best, but perhaps University will see some sort of experience return.

HOW HAS YOUR TASTE IN BOOKS CHANGED AS YOU’VE GOTTEN OLDER?

My reading age has always been much older than I am and while my interests haven’t changed, my requirements for a book to seem ‘good’ to me definitely has. I now require more complex storytelling to remain entertained, along with greater diversity and I prefer strong imagery along with (when well written) poetic-sounding prose.

HOW OFTEN DO YOU BUY BOOKS?

I buy books usually as often as I go into bookshops, although when I have a lot of books I will try to impose a book buying ban -aside from books I need for study, of course. What this usually means is I won’t let myself buy something unless is either a special edition or it is something that I have been meaning to read for a long time. Any purchases during a book buying ban will usually be hugely guilt-fuelled purchased, but I figure that since I’m working part time in a library, I’m issuing books in order to buy more books.

HOW DID YOU GET INTO BOOK REVIEWING?

Since forever I’ve been talking about books, and writing essays about books, but reviewing didn’t really start until about three months ago. It was nearing the end of my exams and I suddenly realised that the perfect thing to put on my personal statement would be a book reviewing blog for an English Literature degree. I then also realised that this was quite a good idea since I have blogging experience and had always felt I hadn’t found the right niche to blog within – I tried a personal blog and eventually didn’t like it much, then I tried a general reviewing blog which also didn’t engage me in the long term. I tried looking at several reviewing platforms and then decided to go with WordPress because of how engaged people are here in terms of viewing, commenting and liking. Shoutout to you active amazing people! The result is Novellique, the blog you see today and will likely continue to see for awhile.

HOW DO YOU REACT WHEN YOU DON’T LIKE THE END OF A BOOK?

I’ll try to figure out why I didn’t like it. I’ve found reviewing helps me to develop my ways of discussing books and is a good way for getting across my thoughts about a certain aspect of a book. I’ll still write a review. Importantly, a bad ending doesn’t necessarily mean I hate or even dislike the book – take THE HUNGER GAMES for example, an ending I didn’t like but respected. It was bittersweet and not what I wanted, but it was the most realistic given what the characters had been through.

HOW OFTEN DO YOU TAKE A SNEAK PEAK AT THE ENDING TO SEE IF THERE IS A HAPPY ENDING?

I probably have done it once, but this means that I’m super bored with the book and want to get it over with quickly. Skipping to sneak peak at the ending isn’t a compliment in my view – something I’m really enjoying and engrossed in will grab my attention, cling onto it with sharp fingernails and not let go. I think this is especially important with fantasy and adult novels which are often slightly more complicated due to genre and can contain better endings.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


One thought on “How I Read Tag

Leave a Reply

