review: The Martian

I’ve been meaning to read THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir ever since I heard about the film, and I finally got around to it! Here’s my full review.

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 09.36.33

THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir

A mission to Mars. A freak accident. One man’s struggle to survive. 
Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. But Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.

TITLE [5/5] Nice and simple, THE MARTIAN is exactly as it suggests: about Mars, and a lone man who is, for all intents and purposes, The Martian. Many times throughout the novel, Watney refers to himself as a Martian, so it makes sense – while the story does eventually switch to other viewpoints (in order to introduce backstory of other characters back on Earth and develop dialogue which isn’t possible from his point of view), it’s primarily about being isolated on a planet not easy to inhabit while said conditions are constantly providing threats, trying to kill you.

COVER [5/5] I absolutely adore the cover of THE MARTIAN, especially the one pictured above. It’s orange-red gradient aesthetic is perfect for the content. Not much else to say, except that it’s one of the few novels I don’t mind the movie version of – they do match, to some extent, although this minimalistic version I prefer slightly more.

PLOT [4/5] Still a strong area despite a slightly lower rating. My only slight complaint is the ending – after everything that happens, I didn’t feel as though everything was properly tied up. It would have been nice to have a prologue of some sort with Watney after the main resolution. Compared to the difficulty throughout the rest of the novel, the final ending seemed rushed without giving time for actual resolution. I didn’t feel that the ending was as satisfying as it could have been, and this is why I dropped half a star from the overall rating. That being said, the unexpected twists and turns highlighted the overall enduring quality of human nature – which I think is the main message.

CHARACTERS [5/5] Mark Watney is such a vivid, realistic character. Without his sense of humour, the entire novel would have fallen flat but I also loved the characterisations of the other minor characters.

OVERALL [4.5/5] I had high expectations for THE MARTIAN – these were definitely met, if not exceeded. This was an extremely realistic novel, from what I could tell, and an excellent addition to the Science Fiction genre which I want to explore more of.

I’m trialling rating each aspect out of five as well as an overall out of five rating – what do you guys think? Thank you to everyone who participated in the OPINION POLL post – your feedback is invaluable in helping me become a better blogger.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


2 thoughts on “review: The Martian

  1. The Martian was one of my favorite books last year. After the emotional roller coaster of the plot, I didn’t mind that there wasn’t an epilogue or much of anything after the finale. It was over, I could breathe, I was happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t get me wrong, I did love it – I don’t give out 4.5 ratings easily – I just would have liked a little more information about his life back on Earth, especially since it was a standalone. I guess that’s just because I prefer standalones to wrap up completely.

      Like

Leave a Reply

