WAYRW #7

This weekly meme is hosted by ITSAREADINGTHING – What Are You Reading Wednesday!

What Are You Reading Wednesday #6

1. What’s the name of your current read?
2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share a couple of sentences.
3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 09.36.33.png

THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir

QUOTE? “I’ve grown accustomed to hearing the alarms blare at all times. The fire alarm has finally stopped, now that there’s no more fire. The low oxygen alarm should stop soon. The high humidity alarm will take a little longer. The water reclaimer has it’s work cut out for it today.”

WOULD YOU LIKE TO LIVE THERE? This is a story about being stuck on Mars, so I think I’ll pass. I’m neither a botanist nor an engineer – I’d definitely die before I got rescued. Although I find space fascinating and admire those who explore it, it’s definitely not a job so I’d not end up on Mars in the first place, thankfully.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 20.03.17

THE HANDMAID’S TALE by Margaret Atwood

QUOTE? “There is more than one type of freedom, said Aunt Lydia. Freedom to and freedom from. In the days of anarchy, it was freedom to. Now you are being given freedom from. Don’t underrate it.”

WOULD YOU LIKE TO LIVE THERE? Definitely not – most dystopia’s are settings you wouldn’t want to live in, but this dystopia especially where women cannot own property, money or have a job, instead working as wives for figures within the Army. Our main character has it worst of all, although it’s a role she chose out of an albeit narrow selection.

What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


One thought on “WAYRW #7

Leave a Reply

