Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

This is the Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag which I was tagged to do by Nina @ WhatTheNina – it’s Tag Tuesday.

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016.

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff is definitely the best book I’ve read so far this year. I was honoured to get a copy of the e-ARC and have also ordered a limited edition physical copy. I don’t want to talk too much about it since it hasn’t been released yet, but I wrote a spoiler-free review here.

BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016.

RADIO SILENCE by Alice Oseman isn’t strictly a sequel, but it’s the second book in (sort of) the same world, so it’s not-not a sequel. It could exist in the world of SOLITAIRE, and there are subtle references, so I’m choosing to including it here. I wrote a review of RADIO SILENCE here.

NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO.

I’m not sure when REPLICA by Lauren Oliver is set to release but its something I’m really excited to read – I love books, especially YA, which challenge the conventional way of reading: ILLUMINAE is a great example of this and so is REPLICA, told with a dual perspective and a creative approach to telling two stories at once: the front half tells one story, then the book is turned over and the other front half tells the other. The book can be read in alternating chapters or finish one half before reading the other.

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR.

GEMIMA is something I’m looking forward to later on in the year, although I need to finish ILLUMINAE first. A lot of new releases are happening in series I have yet to read, so I need to do more reading before I can get properly excited over certain books.

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT.

SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi was a book I was really looking forward to because I’d heard so much hype about it. I did enjoy it, in the end, but not as much as I was expecting. I wrote a review for SHATTER ME here.

BIGGEST SURPRISE.

ILLUMINAE is one of the biggest surprises for me so far – initially I didn’t feel engaged, but having picked it up again, I’m loving it and although there are some finer details which are still confusing, I now have a firm grasp on the plot. THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN is the other big surprise. Since it’s an adult thriller novel, I wasn’t expecting to like it, but it’s a great example of an unreliable narrator and how this affects the readers perspective on a plot. Also, HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD – I was terrified I wouldn’t like it, but so far I’m enjoying it as much as the original stories.

FAVOURITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW).

Since reading NEVERNIGHT and ILLUMINAE, Jay Kristoff is definitely my new favourite author – shortly followed by Alice Oseman from SOLITAIRE and RADIO SILENCE. Also, Margaret Atwood is an author I wasn’t expecting to like, but reading THE HANDMAID’S TALE has really chanced my expectations of her writing.

NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER.

Definitely Mia Corvere from NEVERNIGHT – she’s clever but she doesn’t let killing, death and shadows wipe away her compassion and loyalty to those she cares about. She’s also incredibly powerful and undeserving of everything that she’s been through. I can’t wait to learn more about her and especially the darkin in upcoming subsequent novels.

BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY.

I don’t generally cry at books so I can’t recall a book, especially so far this year, that has made me cry – despite reading a lot of contemporary which is most likely to make me cry out of all genres. The closest thing this year has probably been my re-read of THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER as it’s a novel very close to my heart and can be sometimes difficult to read because it deals with serious topics.

BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY.

This is a silly question – all books make me happy. Reading makes me happy. All the books I’ve mentioned in this tag make me especially happy because it means I’ve remembered them and like them enough to talk about them. The only books that don’t make me happy are the books I haven’t read yet because I don’t physically have enough hours in the day.

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR (OR RECEIVED).

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff is definitely the most beautiful book I’ve bought. It’s the limited edition UK version which is signed and numbered (I seem to recall one of 360 of the original batch) with red page ends. I cannot wait to have it on my bookshelf. I have to shoutout the Robin Hobb books too – especially the hardcover versions of the latest series.

WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Please don’t ever ask me this – I want to read all the books I own and more. There are so many books I want to read right now, and I’m having a major problem trying to get them all read. It’s like every time I read something, something else appears.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


4 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Leave a Reply

