Totally Should’ve Tag

Tag Tuesday this week features the Totally Should’ve tag, originally created by emmmabooks. It reflects on the should-haves and should-have-nots of the book world: here are my picks.

Totally Should’ve Book Tag

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel.

THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST should get a sequel. It’s such an interesting world and I love how the faerie world and the human world are connected. To me, it seems more realistic –  tourists flood to the place and get stolen away, along with traditional faerie tropes which continue to interest me: not being able to lie along with how they view humans.

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series.

THE HUNGER GAMES could’ve worked well with a spin-off series, such as previous games. I know many peopler are keen for a HARRY POTTER spin-off within the marauders era, but I have mixed feelings about new Harry Potter material. Sometimes series are better being left alone or with minimal new content such as HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD.

3. An author who totally should write more books.

I’m aware that Alice Oseman is already writing her third book, but I’m desperate to read it before it’s even written. It doesn’t even have a title yet, but it has a Spotify playlist and an untitled section on Goodreads, which means I must have it. George R R Martin also needs to hurry up and finish ASOIAF book 7, WINDS OF WINTER.

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else.

I’m definitely on the Gale and Katniss team, but I understand why things ended the way they did. I didn’t like it, but I understood it. After the events of Mockingjay there was no way Katniss could have ended up with Gale – especially since he was the one who designed the bombing system, regardless of whether he was responsible for it’s use in the Capitol. I’m more inclined to think it was President Coin who ordered that, but Gale’s guilt would have created a huge barrier. Regardless, I would have liked more exploration of their relationship within Mockingjay – it wasn’t about the romance, at all, but it would have been interesting to see them interact more.

5. Totally should’ve ended differently.

THE MAZE RUNNER series definitely should have ended differently. It was the most frustrating series I’ve ever read: not only did I hate the writing style, but I also hated the ending and how much it invalidated the entire series. Everything was for nothing, nothing was made better or changed by the actions of the characters.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise.

I think the RIVERS OF LONDON series from Ben Aaronovitch would work well with either a TV-show or at least one movie to try it out. I highly doubt it would ever happen, but still, a girl can dream. Also, maybe THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE by Patrick Ness would be a great movie.

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show.

Imagine THE HUNGER GAMES as a TV show. I’m fascinated with the concept – or, even better, a spinoff TV show with each season being a separate Hunger Games. It could cover the previous tributes with younger versions of known characters and I think it would work particularly well. Alternatively, a HARRY POTTER TV-show would also be a great chance. Even a MAZE RUNNER TV-show might have worked.

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view.

One word: ALLEGIANT. I’m fairly sure I’ve talked about this before in previous tags, but I’m convinced ALLEGIANT would have been so much better had it only been from Tris’ point of view. Everything would have been much less filler and much more emotionally connected to Tris.

9. Totally should have a cover change.

It’s been awhile since I’ve read the HUSH HUSH series, but I think a cover change would make it appeal to more people. From what I remember it was actually a decent series, especially since I love series with an angel/fallen angel/demon theme. As with most covers I think a minimalistic theme

10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers.

I think the original 2005 covers of the UGLIES series are much better than the more recent 2012 versions – since the

11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one.

TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD – but hear me out on this one. I’m definitely not intending this as criticism of Harper Lee – quite the opposite, in fact. GO SET A WATCHMAN shouldn’t have been published and I refuse to read it purely based on principle.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


 

Leave a Reply

