Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

This is a huge list of Harry Potter inspired questions which I originally saw here and decided, in honour of the launching of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in print edition, I would go through.

GENERAL

1 Favourite book? | Goblet of Fire? Prisoner of Azkaban? Order of the Phoenix? I think it’s a three-way-tie between these.
2 Least favourite book? | Philosophers Stone? I’m not sure about this. My childhood is Harry Potter and only Harry Potter, so saying a book is the worst means it still outranks most of the books on my bookshelf. It’s also been awhile since I’ve re-read the series. Alternatively I’d say Half-Blood Prince because it’s the book that broke my poor little child’s heart.
3 Favourite movie? | It’s either Order of the Phoenix or Prisoner of Azkaban.
4 Least favourite movie? | Chamber of Secrets, although it’s my least favourite in the sense that as a kid I was absolutely terrified of the entire film – and to be honest, I slightly still am. I don’t think there’s such a thing as a bad Harry Potter movie, though.
5 Favourite quote? | “There’s no need to call me Sir, Professor.”

CHARACTERS

6 Favourite Weasley? | It’s somewhere between Fred & George (they come as a pair, of course) and Ginny. I think I’m going with Fred & George purely because they feature heavily throughout whereas Ginny isn’t there from the start.
7 Favourite female character? | Hermione, of course – she’s a bookworm, I’m a bookworm, she’s a study queen and I honestly wish I had a time-turner sometimes.
8 Favourite villain? | Draco – but only in the later films. I kind of feel like a redemption arc would have made his character much more dimensional, since he and Harry were constantly being represented as two sides of the same coin.
9 Favourite male character? | Probably Sirius, or Remus, or Fred/George.
10 Favourite professor? | Lupin, obviously. A teacher who was both capable and supportive without feeling the need to cause unneccessary danger, bully or restrict learning to specific rules.

WOULD YOU RATHER

11 A, Wash Snape’s hair, or B, spend a day listening to Lockhart rant about himself.
12. Duel A, an elated Bellatrix, or B, an angry Molly
13. Travel to Hogwarts via A. Hogwarts Express or B. flying car.
14. A, Kiss Voldemort. Or B, give Umbridge a bubble bath.
15. A, ride a hippogriff or B, ride a firebolt

BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION

16 Is there a character which you felt differently about in the movies vs books? | Not that I can particularly think of.
17 Is there a movie you preferred instead of the book? | Again, not that I can think of.
18 Richard Harris or Michael Gambon as Dumbledore? | Michael Gambon, although I don’t think that questions fair since Harris died and therefore couldn’t continue filming. He may have been a great Dumbledore, but we’ll never know the full extent of his acting in that role.
19 Your top thing (person or event) which wasn’t included in the movie that annoyed you most? | It’s been a long time since I’ve read the books and watched the films, so it was pretty difficult to think of any fine details, but I definitely think the movie shouldn’t have skipped over the house elves storyline. In particular, the storyline around Winky.
20 If you could remake any of the Potter movies, which would it be? | The Harry Potter movies are such a huge part of my childhood that I wouldn’t remake any of the movies. They may not be perfect but considering how poor many adaptations of novels can be (cough, Insurgent, cough) I wouldn’t change a thing.

HOGWARTS

21 Which house was your first gut feeling you’d be a part of? | Ravenclaw – I may or may not have worked out how to get Ravenclaw as an answer on most quizzes, which I’m fairly sure automatically makes me a Ravenclaw if I can manipulate the sorting quiz.
22 Which house were you actually sorted into on Pottemore (or another online sorting quiz)? | Ravenclaw pride! Wit beyond measure is man’s greatest treasure.
23 Which class would be your favourite? | I’d say Potions (so long as the teacher wasn’t Snape), maybe Charms, or possibly Herbology.
24 Which spell do you think would be most useful to learn? | Accio. I am forever loosing things and a spell to fetch something for me would be my best friend.
25 Which character do you think at Hogwarts you’d instantly become best friends with? | Luna. She didn’t get enough attention and I wish she could have played a larger part in the books.

MISCELLANEOUS

26 If you could own one of the three Hallows, which would it be? | Cloak of invisibility – it’s owner gets the best fate, after all – although don’t get me wrong, the wand would be pretty cool too.
27 Is there any aspect of the books you’d want to change? This can be a character, and event, anything? | I think any time a novel or series can become more diverse, both ethnically and in terms of gender/orientation, it’s a good thing. However relative to the time in which Harry Potter was published (JK Rowling wasn’t allowed to use her real name because the publishers said boys wouldn’t read a novel published by a woman) I understand why it’s not as diverse as perhaps it should have been. Also, it’s important not to put in diverse characters for the sake of making them token Diverse Characters™.
28 Favourite marauder? | Remus or Sirius, I can’t pick between them.
29 If you could bring one character back to life, which would it be? | Fred. Or Tonks. Or Remus. Or Sirius. Don’t do this to me. Don’t make me chose. I pick them all!
30 Hallows or horcruxes? | Hallows, obviously. Who the heck would choose horcruxes? Hallows are useful and they don’t turn you nasty. All of the horcruxes were lovely items but that was before they were associated with Voldemort.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


 

Leave a Reply

