The Secret Life Of A Book Blogger

Thank you to novelgossip for tagging me in this weeks Tag Tuesday!

The object of the tag is to answer the questions, then nominate 5 more bloggers who you’d like to get to know more about by them answering the same questions below.

How long have you been a blogger? 

It’s been roughly seven weeks since I’ve been dedicatedly posting, although about eight or nine since I first created the idea of being a book blog and put the layout of my blog together. It’s changed quite a lot since then, but any changes have definitely helped me love the blogging experience.

At what point do you think you will stop? 

Hopefully never – although next summer I may be on a short hiatus during final A Level exams, but so far I’m enjoying running this blog and intend to continue to do so for as long as I can. I don’t think any blogger starts with an intended stop date – growing a blog takes a lot of time, effort and dedication which no-one wishes to throw away.

What is the best part? 

Communicating with people and creating a community full of people with different favourite genres and reading habits who encourage each other to read outside their usual fiction. Also, the sense of accomplishment at completing books and writing their reviews, whether part of a community wide reading challenge or a personal reading goal you’ve set yourself. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like the ARCs and review copies I have the opportunity to receive from authors and publishers, despite being a small blog in comparison to some.

What is the worst part? 

Choosing a reviewing scale, whether it be using stars or percentages, is definitely the hardest part for me personally. I still struggle to decide whether to use the 5-star-system, the percentage system, or both. Using goodreads means that I have to translate whatever system I have into a 5-star rating, but I feel as though this rating system doesn’t provide the variety I would like. For example, a 4* contemporary may not be as good as a 4* fantasy, or the other way around, but I don’t have a way to express this. In general it’s best to not compare my ratings between novels, but instead focus on the general guide of:

1=DNF | 2=Poor | 3=Okay | 4=Good | 5=Very Good

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

Creating pictures of books can take awhile because, as a former photography student, I use my dSLR and have to battle with the light, background and focus. I don’t have any artificial lighting but I don’t like the yellow lighting produced by bulbs, so I tend to only take pictures in the morning (or afternoon, if it’s good weather). Creating my header pictures can be annoying but is relatively quick –  I find free-to-use textures and edit them in GIMP to include text and sometimes a colour gradient. Sometimes I will remake these if I find I’m using similar colours too many times in a row or I dislike the original texture.

Who’s your book crush? 

It’s currently Jake from THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST but I’m being cautious as I’m not even half way through yet and this book is packed full of surprises and unexpected twists. I almost don’t want to like anyone just in case.

What author would you like to have on your blog? 

There are so many authors who would probably never end up on my blog, but here are just a few: JK Rowling, Cassandra Clare, Patrick Ness, Jenny Han, Alice Oseman, Jay Kristoff, Ben Aaronovitch, Robin Hobb and George R R Martin.

What do you wear when you write your blog? 

I don’t have anything specific I wear while blogging, but fun fact: a lot of posts are either initially started or completely finished while in pajamas.

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

It depends greatly what the post is about. Unboxings and hauls will take longer because I need to take pictures, edit and then write the post. Book reviews will take me awhile because I have to be in the right mood to enjoy them. Making notes in a designated notebook has really helped me develop my reviews, and producing a set of categories to talk about has definitely improved my structure. I’m much keener to write my reviews now that i have a list of things to talk about, and start writing notes from the beginning rather than trying to remember it all once it’s finished.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture? 

I think a great majority of the book blogging community is helpful, friendly and open for discussion about different books and series – it’s great when I see people recommending books to one another and openly discussing topics in the comments. There are many people who are quick to point out the flaws of book blogging communities but I don’t see this as helping – the community is such a huge thing that I would much prefer people to focus on

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog? 

I think the most important thing is to regularly blog about things you like. Aesthetics are the second most important to me – by that I mean the overall look of the blog, it’s organisation, and (if applicable) the quality of any images/photography within the posts. Sharp, minimalistic, well lit pictures are a thousand times more attractive than blurry, yellow-tinted images. That being said, do whatever you need to get more practise because the content of a post always takes priority.

 People I Nominate:

One / Two / Three / Four / Five


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

6 thoughts on “The Secret Life Of A Book Blogger

  1. Pingback: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger – Comma Hangover

  2. Pingback: I Have A Secret Life?! 😳 – The Bibliophile Blogs

  3. For a new-ish blogger, you’re doing great!! I really love the look of your blog 😊 I definitely agree that the community is an amazing place. Everyone is so wonderful. I definitely struggle with ratings too. Like a 4 star rating can mean so many different things for me, haha.

    Thanks for the tag! I’ve done this already, but I appreciate the thought ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

