July Wrap-Up

This month has been a big month for reading, so here’s a summary of everything that’s happened, including what I’ve read, my reviews, and an update on my reading challenge.

According to goodreads, where I track everything I read, this month I’ve read 7 books, including 6 completed and 1 DNF.

  • FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell
  • NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff
  • ALLERLEIRAUH by Chantal Gadoury [DNF]
  • SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi 
  • CITIZEN: AN AMERICAN LYRIC by Claudia Rankine 
  • ILLUMINAE by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman 
  • PANIC by Lauren Oliver

Back in my June Wrap Up, I revised my catch-up reading plan by wanting to read 5 books in July – a target I achieved, and beat! Out of the books I wanted to finish by the end of the month, I’ve finished all but one, excluding the DNF.

reviews: FANGIRL // NEVERNIGHT // SHATTER ME // ILLUMINAE // PANIC 

When talking about the books I’m reading, I think it’s best to class them as either ‘active’ or ‘inactive’. Technically I’m reading NEED by Joelle Charbonneau, but since I haven’t picked it up in two weeks, I consider it inactive. Sometimes I pick up a book, read a few chapters and then get distracted by something else. It’s a sign of having too much time on my hands – but it’s meant I’ve resumed reading before going to bed, and I’m no longer in a reading slump.

The full list of what I’m actively reading at the moment is 3 books, none of which consist of ARCs or reading copies.

  • THE DARKEST PARK OF THE FOREST by Holly Black
  • THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO by Patrick Ness 
  • AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White

Then, my inactive reading list is currently made up of 2 books, including 1 review copy:

  • NEED by Joelle Charbonneau
  • THE ROMANTICS by Leah Konen [Review Copy]

In order to keep my goodreads looking clean and accurate to what I’m actually reading, I occasionally swap inactive reads back into a shelf called Need To Finish – this is different from my DNF shelf as it contains books I still want to read but have dropped in priority since picking up different novels. They’re usually novels that were overshadowed by something amazing and therefore I need to return to them when I’m next looking for a book to read.

The August TBR will be arriving soon, as well as reviews being posted shortly for PANIC and ILLUMINAE. The crossed out section on the reviews list will be replaced with links once they’re active.

What have you guys been up to in July? Did you meet your reading targets? Any surprises, any disappointments? Let me know in the comments!


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there, too.

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository

 


 

One thought on “July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

