I Messed Up Tag

Tag Tuesday continues with a tag I saw over on LIISTHINKINS called the ‘I MESSED UP TAG‘ which. I liked the interesting questions, so here are my responses.

  • A character’s appearance you misread or imagined differently

I can’t think of any specific characters where their actual appearance is difference from how I envisioned them. I don’t tend to pay much attention to the appearances of characters, since I’m often reading many multiple books at once, and focus more on the plotlines.

  • A character name you’ve been pronouncing differently

As a Brit reading generally US-based literature, especially when it comes to dystopia, I frequently pronounce people, places and general names wrong. I can’t think of a character name but I still struggle with the pronunciation of ‘steele’ from the SHADOWHUNTER CHRONICLES.

  • An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure

I can think of overused tropes that I dislike, but not any in particular that are my guilty pleasure. If I like something, I’ll be honest about it – I rarely won’t admit to liking a book.

  • A cliched character type you enjoy viewing on screen than reading about

I can think of plenty of cliche character types but not any in particular that I like viewing on screen more than I do reading. The tortured hero is a character type often overdone but is one of my favourites, since characters with a darker past tend to be rawer and have greater development compared to naive characters. I like it when characters have history and interesting traits prior to the novel beginning, constantly developing rather than starting off as a blank canvas.

  • A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book

Since I read a lot – a lot – of fantasy, most of  the words I come into contact with are words that don’t actually exist or mean something in real life – Idris, Steele, Nevernight. However, nephilim was something I learnt from the SHADOWHUNTER CHRONICLES, especially THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS series. I didn’t realise the nephilim were an actual biblical concept rather than something invented for the books.

  • Have you ever not read or completed a required reading for school?

No, never – I always read the books I need to for study, especially since I chose to continue English Literature. The only examples where I haven’t finished a reading has been when I’ve been busy with other deadlines and haven’t read a specific chapter, although the next week I’ll probably be several chapters ahead and I’m good at pretending to know what I’m talking about in class.

  • Have you ever (or wanted to) skipped a chapter from the POV of a character you weren’t interested in?

The biggest example I can think of is Four’s chapters of Allegiant. I didn’t connect with the character at all, and hated his POV after being used to the narration of Tris. Especially after *spoiler alert* happened, I struggled to finish the book because I didn’t care. As much as I understand why Veronica Roth needed the dual perspective, it felt as though his chapters were filling in sideplots which I wasn’t interested in. It’s a prime example of why authors need to be consistent with their perspective.

  • Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

While I’ve definitely avoided social plans in order to study, and this may include studying for an English Literature exam, I don’t usually cancel social plans that I’ve already agreed to just to read. Regardless of what is happening in my life, I’ll find time to read, with whatever time i have available.


Find me on social media…

Goodreads / Instagram / Twitter

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com


5 thoughts on “I Messed Up Tag

  1. I also love tortured heroes! They do seem to have the best character development, and I just find them interesting and often more relatable than other characters even though I’m generally not quite as tortured as they are, haha.

    I also always read every single school book that was assigned. I think we’re in the minority lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, i agree – I suspected something would happen to Tris the minute I saw Four chapters. It was weird to only have them in the last book and it really put me off the whole series to be honest.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

