Makeup Book Tag

As part of Tag Tuesday, this is the makeup book tag – ten questions about books, inspired by makeup.

1. PRIMER: pick a book that left a lasting impression.

THE HUNGER GAMES series and THE HARRY POTTER series are series which form part of my childhood.

2. FOUNDATION: pick your favorite first book in a series.

ASSASSIN’S APPRENTICE by Robin Hobb is probably one of my favourite first books in a series – I love all Robin Hobb books to date, but I especially loved the first book for it’s level of detail and description.

3. CONCEALER: pick a character you wish you could get rid of.

Jacob from TWILIGHT still really annoys me – it’s been ages since I read the series and I’ve lost all connection to the characters, but I can’t stop being annoyed by his character. The whole “imprinting on my ex’s daughter” is beyond creepy, but other than that it’s been such a long time since I read a TWILIGHT book that I can’t remember exactly why I’m so annoyed.

4. POWDER: pick your favorite last book in a series.

IF I DIE by Rachel Vincent isn’t the last book in the SOUL SCREAMERS series, but I finished the fifth book before the sixth and seventh were released – so I’m going to count it. IF I DIE and BEFORE I WAKE were such poetic titles with huge twists that I loved.

5. EYEBROWS: a book that you think everyone should read.

SOLITAIRE and RADIO SILENCE by Alice Oseman. THE HUNGER GAMES series. THE HARRY POTTER series.

6. EYESHADOW: pick a book that has your favorite colours on the cover.

I’m not sure about my favourite colour since I have a lot of books with entire rainbows on them, but THE MANIFESTO ON HOW TO BE INTERESTING has a very striking colour with it’s black and red colour. In terms of general aesthetics, THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER is a beautiful book with a beautiful cover.

7. EYELINER: pick a dark & mysterious book.

MORE THAN THIS has some pretty heavy themes and maintains a mystery throughout – although it was more dark in the philosophical sense than dark in an evil sense. NEVERNIGHT also has dark moments although I wouldn’t call it “dark” dark or especially mysterious.

8. MASCARA: pick a loooooong book.

A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE series features some very, very long books – a Google search reveals that A STORM OF SWORDS is the longest in the series, at 973. It’s probably the longest book I’ve ever read.

9. BLUSH: pick a book that had some cringe-worthy romance.

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han had cringe moments, but in a good way – it was realistic cringe rather than soppiness cringe.

10. HIGHLIGHTER: pick a book that brightened your day

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE is a happy young adult contemporary which has its emotional ups and downs but generally has a positive message throughout – plus, the ending was really positive and rounded everything up.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there & Instagram too

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


2 thoughts on “Makeup Book Tag

Leave a Reply

