review: Nevernight

I received my copy of Nevernight from Netgalley. This in no way influenced thoughts or my review. Thank you to Jay Kristoff and his team for approving me for such a highly anticipated release – and keeping me entertained on Twitter.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.05.58.png

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.


But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

I believe all pre-orders of the US edition of NEVERNIGHT from online stores come signed – for example, the BOOK DEPOSITORY.

TITLE.

The title of NEVERNIGHT is specific enough to the world to be relevant, although isn’t specific enough to give away anything about the plot. I support the unofficial title of ‘stabstabstab‘ but I recognise that NEVERNIGHT rolls of the tongue a little easier.  Can we have a moment to also appreciate the badass-ness of the goodreads synopsis? “The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary students. The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.”

COVER.

I’ve been reading the ARC as an eBook, so I’ve not really had the cover to look at repeatedly, but I have ordered a limited edition hardback copy for my bookshelves and the cover looks to be absolutely beautiful – the limited edition hardbacks in particular, but the cover design I also love. There’s two designs of cover, and I prefer the

PLOT.

I definitely enjoyed the plot of NEVERNIGHT – it was everything I wanted from a fantasy novel and so much more. It’s not the young adult novel some places are trying to market it as, but the jump between some dark, older YA and NEVERNIGHT felt raw and natural. The violence and mature themes were presented as part of Mia’s daily life. It’s the kind of assassins story which is very transparent about everything killing people involves – the blood, the poisons, the harshness of a child being forced into an adult world at a young age. My only cause for complaint is realising I now have to wait some time, probably in excess of a year, for the next one. Write, Kristoff, write!

CHARACTERS.

All the characters of NEVERNIGHT felt so very real – Mia, Tric, Ashlinn, even the teachers all had their individual personalities. The thing that distinguished these characters from other novels for me was the detail to Mia’s personality: often in young adult (although I’ll say again, this probably shouldn’t be called young adult) the main character is ‘not like other girls’ except for the fact that they are, in every single way, like any other girls. Mia is a new type of girl/woman in fiction: she’s written properly. She’s badass and strong but also has coping mechanisms which she experiences the loss of – it’s pointed out that by not facing her fear she isn’t being truthful to herself. This is conveyed excellently through the transition between Captain Puddles, a real cat, and Mister Kindly, the not-cat. On an analytical level (see, this is how much I loved NEVERNIGHT) it’s the transition between cute-and-cuddly Mia and stab-stab-stab Mia, a transition which is initially shown through a dual narrative at the beginning, with lines mirroring each other to explain the past and present. It’s one of the best initial few characters I’ve ever read, quickly introducing you to Mia before you’ve even stopped getting used to the world.

OVERALL.

I absolutely loved NEVERNIGHT and gave it a sold 5* with a percentage rating of 98% – I believe the highest I’ve ever rated. Footnotes provide you with extra information about the lore, as well as side comments about a person or situation. It definitely sounds as though the author is telling you a story at the start, but this is soon lost as you become engrossed in the characters. I’ve deliberately knocked 2% from the 100% rating for the two characters lost who I had just begun to love. Perhaps we’ll talk about that when the book is officially released on the 11th August – I’m starting to need some group therapy.


Want to keep up to date with what I’m reading?
Check out my goodreads. 

Want to keep updated on Twitter?
I’m there, too.

Want to help support Novellique?
Consider buying from Book Depository


2 thoughts on “review: Nevernight

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | novellique

  2. Pingback: July Wrap-Up | novellique

Leave a Reply

