Would You Rather Tag

As part of Tag Tuesday, here is the WOULD YOU RATHER TAG.

1. Read only trilogies or stand-alones?

This is a question I wouldn’t really want to chose between, because there are benefits to both trilogies and stand-alones. However, if I absolutely had to chose, I’d go with stand-alones since I find the authors tend to make sure to get all their best writing into the book. Trilogies can, sometimes, feel padded out with unnecessary scenes.

2. Read only female or male authors?

I don’t really see any difference in what I’ve read between female and male authors, so I don’t know what to base my decision on.

3. Shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?

Definitely Amazon, or more recently the book depository. This is for a variety of reasons: the price, and also convenience. Where I live there are few bookshops and no nearby Barnes & Noble stores. Even Waterstones, a popular UK bookshop, can be quite expensive. I do, however, try and buy from local independent bookshops when I can.

4. All books become movies or T.V. shows?

I’d rather all books became TV shows if they were loyal to the books, or movies if there were going to be significant changes – in a movie the production value will be higher, regardless of plotline changes. For example, the difference between the CITY OF BONES movie and SHADOWHUNTERS T.V series.

5. Read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

5 books per week, because then I can fully immerse myself in the novel – five pages per day isn’t enough for me to become involved with the story. The second biggest cause of a reading slump is not having long enough per day to read books, as I don’t feel myself connecting to the story.

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

This is difficult – I love reviewing, but I also love writing. I think I’d chose to be a professional author because it’s what I’ve wanted to be for a long time, and I’ve been writing since before I can remember. If I was an author I could still review books, whereas if I was a professional reviewer who also just wrote in their spare time, I wouldn’t really be able to share what I was writing to a large audience.

7. Only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before?

This was a difficult question because although I don’t re-read many books, I do have a certain selection which I would like to re-read. However, I suppose constantly discovering new books isn’t a bad thing and considering how much I read, I have to chose to always read new ones rather than re-reading my top 20.

8. Be a librarian or book seller?

I actually am a librarian – technically a library assistant, but since librarians are currently very rare within library organisations, I include myself under the name of librarian. This question is pretty vague because for either option it would depend on which role of each career I was in. Advertising and marketing for books is something I’m potentially interested in, but at the same time, being a librarian gives me the ability to share my love for books. So, I’m not sure.

9. Only read your favorite genre, or every genre except your favorite?

Currently my favourite genre is YA or Fantasy, so I would rather read only my favourite genre than reading everything but – after all, if it wasn’t my favourite genre, I wouldn’t love reading it so much.

10. Only read physical books or eBooks?

This is a difficult one to decide – eBooks are often more convenient, but like many I prefer to have a physical copy in my hand. If I was absolutely forced to chose between them, I would probably pick eBooks for sake of convenience and also taking into account the cost of books – eBooks are frequently much cheaper than their physical copy equivalents.

Leave a Reply

