Page Sixty-Nine

At the age of 69, Marshall McLuhan died, leaving behind his theory of how to choose a book: if you like what’s on page 69, chances are you’ll like the rest too. Can you pick these page 69s? – GUARDIAN, MAY 2016

Inspired by this article talking about the importance of page sixty-nine, I decided to investigate some of my favourite books, from a variety of genres, to find the best quotes from page sixty-nine.

DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth

“He stares at me, and I don’t look away. He isn’t a dog, but the same rules apply. Looking away is submissive. Looking him in the eye is a challenge. It’s my choice.”

RADIO SILENCE by Alice Oseman

“I put my phone down on top of the maths answers I’d been writing in a notebook. The letters of the email and the numbers on the paper all fuzzed together for a moment. I needed to tell him it was me. Before I messed up another friendship.”

TO KILL A MOCKING BIRD by Harper Lee

“Jem said nothing more about it until late afternoon. When we passed our tree he gave it a meditative pat on the its cement, and remained deep in thought. He seemed to be working himself into a bad humour, so I kept my distance.”

AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES by John Green

“Bees feefle are weird, Colin said, pulling out his toothbrush mid-sentence.”

THE HUNGER GAMES by Suzanne Collins

“The people began to point at us eagerly as they recognise a tribute train rolling into the city. I step away from the window, sickened by their excitement, knowing they can’t wait to watch us die.”

Leave a Reply

