Diverse Book Tag

The diverse book tag attempts to spread awareness of the existence of diverse books. This diverse book tag was inspired by WELLTHUMBEDBOOKS.

1: FIND A BOOK STARING A LESBIAN CHARACTER.

RADIO SILENCE by Alice Oseman features both a gay and lesbian character as the two main leads. It also happens to be one of my favourite contemporary novels at the moment. The MORTAL INSTRUMENTS series also features many LGBT+ characters.

2: FIND A BOOK SET IN LATIN AMERICA.

I couldn’t find a book for this category, unless you count the Scorch Trials – I can’t remember if that has a real-life place equivalent.

3: FIND A BOOK ABOUT A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY.

I don’t know much about the book NOT IF I SEE YOU FIRST by Eric Lindstrom as it’s currently on my TBR, but as far as I’m aware it features a blind main character. I especially love the braille over the lettering on the front cover – it’s a really nice touch (no pun intended).

4: FIND A SCIENCE FICTION OR FANTASY BOOK WITH A POC PROTAGONIST.

The RIVERS OF LONDON series is an adult urban fantasy series written by BEN AARONOVITCH (who I also met at a book signing). It features a POC protagonist set around London involving magic and real life unicorns.

5: FIND A BOOK SET IN (OR ABOUT) ANY COUNTRY IN AFRICA.

Another category I couldn’t find a book for in books I own, unless we’re counting fantasy worlds based on Africa, which is difficult to determine.

6: FIND A BOOK WRITTEN BY AN ABORIGINAL OR AMERICAN INDIAN AUTHOR.

KHALED HOSSEINI is an Afghan-American author which was the closest I could find, although I don’t usually pay attention to an authors ethnicity, since most books I’ve read recently don’t include authors biographies like books I read when I was younger.

7: FIND A BOOK SET IN SOUTH ASIA (AFGHANISTAN, INDIA, SIR LANKA, PAKISTAN ETC).

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS by Khaled Hosseini is set in Afghanistan during the rise of the Taliban, featuring the struggles of two women in very different social circumstances, but victimised by the patriarchal society all the same. I studied this book for AS Literature this year and it was very interesting to analyse in depth.

8: FIND A BOOK WITH A BIRACIAL PROTAGONIST.

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE and it’s sequel PS. I STILL LOVE YOU both feature a biracial character, as well as EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING. There are also characters within RADIO SILENCE who are, I believe, biracial.

9: FIND A BOOK STARRING A TRANSGENDER CHARACTER OR ABOUT TRANSGENDER ISSUES.

Again, another book on my TBR is THE ART OF BEING NORMAL which I haven’t yet read but as far as I’m aware is about transgender issues with a transgender protagonist.

5 thoughts on “Diverse Book Tag

Leave a Reply

