review: The Boy With Words

These are my thoughts on THE BOY WITH WORDS by C.E Wilson – I was provided with an ARC in exchange for a honest review.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THE BOY WITH WORDS by C.E Wilson

White Frost has only ever known the darkness. Everything outside of her closed society is The Unknown – a strange and dangerous place accessible to only a chosen few. White’s only glimpse of the world beyond comes from her beloved cousin in the form of mysterious collections of words that hint at astonishing wonders. When an accident upends her simple existence, she’s given an unlikely chance to see the truth for herself. What she finds is greater and more terrible than she could have imagined, and before long she is forced to make the most important choice of her life: does she accept her safe, limited world that she’s known or take a desperate gamble in a world not meant for her with the Boy with Words?

TITLE.

One of the things I most enjoyed about THE BOY WITH WORDS was the way in which the title eventually links to the novel – not only the novel title but also the titles of the two parts, FIVE-SEVEN-FIVE and FIVE-SEVEN-SIX. In the interests of spoiling the twist, I won’t say any more about the fine details, but I really enjoyed making the connection between the numbers and the title. It was cleverly done.

COVER.

I received my copy of THE BOY WITH WORDS via e-book, so I haven’t had much of a chance to look at the cover in detail. I absolutely love the covers according to goodreads where the book is separated into parts FIVE-SEVEN-FIVE and FIVE-SEVEN-SIX, whereas I’m not so keen on the cover published with both parts in the same text. Regardless, a strong story and established characters is more important than specifics of a cover.

CHARACTERS.

Generally I found the characters to be well developed, with a range of personalities which were mostly consistent. The only character I felt sometimes behaved slightly out of character was Kes – his arguments and point of view often seemed hypocritical without being recognised by other characters.  Without delving too deep into spoilers territory, Kes and White’s arguments specifically seemed very circular and often repeated arguments already made. I suppose this may be the case for many real-life arguments, but it slowed down the narrative. At some moments White also felt a little annoying, although this felt more like an intentional character trait compared to how Kes’ personality was presented.

PLOTLINE.

Having read nothing about this book beforehand, or any of the authors previous work, I went into this completely unaware of what I was about to read. I was pleasantly surprised – the twist was something that I did figure out beforehand but was still surprising, and I liked the way it provided a unique view of the world through the positions of the characters, specifically White. Overall, I enjoyed THE BOY WITH WORDS and gave it 4*.

Leave a Reply

