Social Media Tag

As part of TUESDAY TAG, this is my response to the SOCIAL MEDIA BOOK TAG originally created by FAULTYDEVICES.

1: TWITTER, a favourite short book.

SOLITAIRE by Alice Oseman probably doesn’t class as a super short book, but compared to many novels (especially fantasy) that I’ve found myself reading, it was relatively short and probably by favourite contemporary read.

2: FACEBOOK, a book I felt pressured to read.

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green was something I refused to read for several years. It was only until the film was in talks that I was persuaded to read – I was told Ketchup Clouds was a good build-up, but The Fault In Our Stars is such a unique novel that I don’t think anything could have prepared me. I’m certainly glad I finally dug up the courage and began to explore the contemporary genre.

3: TUMBLR, a book I read before it was cool.

THE HUNGER GAMES by Suzanne Collins was a novel just starting to become popular when I read it – I seem to remember hearing about casting talks starting. At the time I wasn’t really invested in any ‘fandoms’ and therefore wasn’t involved with the initial hype around the first film. To some extent, CITY OF BONES by Cassandra Clare was also a novel just starting to become popular due to rumours of a film – as for undiscovered within the book community itself, I’m not sure.

4: MYSPACE, a book I can’t remember if I liked it or not.

THE HOBIT by J.R.R.Tolkien is one of the first major books I remember reading at a young age on my own. I vaguely remember some positive thoughts about it, although I haven’t revisited it since.

5: INSTAGRAM, a book that was so beautiful I just had to share.

FOOL’S ASSASSIN by Robin Hobb in hardback is one of the most beautiful books I own in terms of mimicking a medieval-style of detail. ILLUMINAE by Amie Kaufman is also another attractive book for entirely different reasons. Unfortunately I only have the paperback copy rather than the hardback which, in my opinion, is even more beautiful. Finally, LADY MIDNIGHT by Cassandra Clare is a beautiful choice out of my cult fandom-related section.

6: YOUTUBE, a book that I wish would be turned into a movie.

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han. TESTED by Joelle Charbonneau. I also wish CITY OF BONES by Cassandra Clare would be remade into a movie (or even a loyal TV show) which would do it justice – then again, perhaps some books mean too much for me to like them in any other format.

7: GOODREADS, a book that I recommend to everyone.

ASSASSIN’S APPRENTICE by Robin Hobb is a recommendation I’d make to mostly anyone – it isn’t young adult but doesn’t have any particularly adult themes beyond anything in a teenage-range book. SOLITAIRE by Alice Oseman reappears here as a young-adult  (specifically student) specific recommendation.

Leave a Reply

