WAYRW #1

WAYRW (or What Are You Reading Wednesday) is a weekly reading post hosted by itsareadingthing. You can catch up with previous WAYRW posts here – one (this post), two, three, four, five and beyond here! This involves, as the name suggests, the book(s) you’re currently reading. Sidenote: I had some problems uploading this last night so here it is, a little late.

1: What’s the name of your current read?
2: Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share a couple of sentences.
3: Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

“Words I’d spent the last two years listening to over and over, words I’d sketched again and again inside speech bubbles and on my bedroom wall. Words I’d heard in a male voice and a female voice, changing every few weeks, always in that classic World-War-II old-time radio accent. The opening line of every University City episode: “Hello. I hope somebody is listening.” 

The first book I’m currently reading is RADIO SILENCE by Alice Oseman. Set in present-day, RADIO SILENCE is contemporary, realistic read – much like SOLITAIRE, Oseman’s previous novel. As the characters are only a year older than myself, and within the English education system (much like I am), the world of RADIO SILENCE is pretty similar to my current situation. Minus the Cambridge offer, probably. A review for RADIO SILENCE should be up within the next two weeks.


Their land-bound friends were all at the party, and they clustered around Coll, offering congratulations. Some of them even felt compelled to talk to Marris, to tell her how lucky she was to have a flyer for a brother, to have been a flyer herself. Have been, have been, have been. She wanted to scream. 

The second book I’m currently reading is WINDHAVEN by George R R Martin and Lisa Tuttle. WINDHAVEN seems to have an exciting if excluding society. In many ways the elitism reminds me of present day situations. The idea of being a Flyer certainly sparks interest for my inner daredevil, but I’d also be in constant fear of becoming a woodwings – while it would be nice to try the world of WINDHAVEN for a day, I doubt I would want it to be a permanent trip. A review for WINDHAVEN should be up within the next month.


On an interesting note, I’ve also just started reading is THE BOY WITH WORDS by C.E Wilson – who kindly enough has provided me with an ARC in exchange for a honest review.

One thought on “WAYRW #1

  1. Pingback: NWU #1 – novellique

Leave a Reply

